Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Is there a way in Foobar2000...  (Read 5701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8932
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« on: December 04, 2010, 10:11:10 AM »
... to easily change the drive letter of files in Foobar playlists?  I've done some poking around in the search and elsewhere but can't find what to do to handle the aftermath (in Foobar) of moving a few gigs of flacs from one HD (:F) to another new one (:E).   Short of recompiling my Foobar lists I'd hope for a way to redirect lists already assembled.  Thanks
« Last Edit: December 04, 2010, 05:23:23 PM by U~Ca^ »
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2010, 10:27:20 AM »
Since this is windows I would say use UltraEdit (available from www.ultraedit.com). You could probably try out the demo for this. When you open the file it will be in hex because it's a binary file. But you can change the hex equivalents of E:\ to F:\

The function is Search->Replace, then in the "Find What:" window tell it 45 3A 5C and in the "Replace With:" window tell it 46 3A 5C

Perl can do this also using regular expressions. You can get Perl for any OS and it's free. And it could be scripted with Perl.

I don't know if Foobar uses check-sums to ensure the integrity of it's .fpl files, but if it doesn't this method should work. I would try it on one file and then test it first. 
« Last Edit: December 04, 2010, 10:38:52 AM by live2496 »
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline mattmiller

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1299
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2010, 10:37:04 AM »
Or just swap the drive letters of the hard drives so that the new drive with the files has the old drive letter.
Mics: Neumann KM100 (x4), AK40 (x2), AK50 (x2)
Pre: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Tascam HD-P2 (x2), Sony PCM-M10

Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2010, 10:43:15 AM »
Yeah, you could reassign the drive letters in the MMC computer management console. And then add the snap-in for disk management.

If you right-click on the drive in that application there is an option to change drive letters.
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2010, 10:48:19 AM »
Changing drive letters should work but if the OP hasn't moved all his music files from F: to E: (it's not clear whether all or just some were moved) then find and replace is the better method.

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2010, 11:35:41 AM »
Grep should do the trick.
http://www.wingrep.com/index.htm

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2010, 01:51:39 PM »
Rescanning seems like a really simple solution.  Not sure why the desire for a different solution?  I just re-scanned recently, and even though I have nearly a terabyte of tunes it doesn't take all that long.  Worst case, run the scan overnight while you sleep.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8932
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2010, 03:28:13 PM »
I'm gratified that so many comments seemed to hit most of my problem.  Thanks. 

I should have been a little more detailed perhaps.  Try this...

I have a local 150gb HD (C:\) and a 1.5T external (F:\) that's full of flacs.  My masters are effectively stored there on and organized by Jazz/blues, Jam/Rock, Strings/Folk and Trade sourced/Downloaded.

I Have several Foobar lists built around specific bands that I tape, projects that I have on going, the odd "Miscellaneous" items and they span my C and the F drives.

With the F filling up I picked up another 1T external.  It wanted to be Drive E:\.  I let it be.  I then moved all my Trade sourced/Downloaded files there, approx 238gb knowing full well this drawback would need to be dealt with.

What I'd love to learn is if there are Foobar tools or editable .ini files that I can use to change one or more playlists from F:\'s to E:\'s.  In the past I didn't have quite as much invested in the Foobar lists, and in the grand scheme of things they're not life or death.  I did reassign drive letters in the past, but if I wish to keep the two external drives more or less active, it would save me some time (now) to maintain the current drive assignments.

Brian, what is this rescanning you speak of?  Is it a Foobar deal?  ... [goes off to search foobar for "rescan" refs.]
« Last Edit: December 04, 2010, 03:30:39 PM by U~Ca^ »
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8932
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2010, 03:38:06 PM »
Grep should do the trick.
http://www.wingrep.com/index.htm

Jason, ironically your suggestion of using grep may solve another problem I have with windows. 

I have hundreds of info text files for shows I've recorded.  I've had a request to burn all the shows that I pulled at one local venue for a fella.  In Explorer "search dog" search, I can return files that satisfy a "find word or phrase in a file" (venue name) but there's no way of exporting that list to a text or csv file for organizing into a cogent list.  I'm assuming grep will do that for me?  I can't seem to come up with the right DOS batch syntax to do it. 

...   :thinking:  ... I Have It!  I just remembered a utility that I have, TextCrawler, that will search text files and do replacement etc.  It will also export the "found list" to csv files so I'm good to go!   :P  Sucks when you're so old that you forget what tools you have in your own bag.

BTW, you wouldn't be in a position to know of where I can find a copy of AutoTurn for Acad that's a couple revs old would you?  I'd be happy to pay any license transfer fee.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2010, 04:17:44 PM by U~Ca^ »
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2010, 04:14:21 PM »
Grep should do the trick.
http://www.wingrep.com/index.htm

Jason, ironically your suggestion of using grep may solve another problem I have with windows. 

I have hundreds of info text files for shows I've recorded.  I've had a request to burn all the shows that I pulled at one local venue for a fella.  In Explorer "search dog" search, I can return files that satisfy a "find word or phrase in a file" (venue name) but there's no way of exporting that list to a text or csv file for organizing into a cogent list.  I'm assuming grep will do that for me?  I can't seem to come up with the right DOS batch syntax to do it. 

yes, I'm pretty sure Grep will do that as well, although I've never used it for that purpose.  but I also think Grep will help with your original request.  foobar playlists are essentially text files but with different extensions.  You could use Grep to find all the "F:\" text strings within the playlist files, and replace them with the "E:\" text string.  That's all you need to do, right?

BTW, you wouldn't be in a position to know of where I can find a copy of AutoTurn for Acad that's a couple revs old would you?  I'd be happy to pay any license transfer fee.

I can't help you there.  The company I work for (AECOM) is huge (50,000+ employees), and for those types of applications, we just have one central license server for all of the US.  I think the license server is in Piscataway, NJ.  Anyway, the IT folks just keep it all up to date, and us engineers never really have to deal with software licenses or whatnot.   however, if it's a quick thing that you need drawn with AutoTurn, feel free to get in touch with me privately, and I could do it for you.  also, just FYI, according to Transoft's website, the latest version of AutoTurn works with AutoCAD versions back to 2004.  So unless you're running something even earlier than the 2004 version of AutoCAD, the latest version should be fine.

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8932
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2010, 04:28:47 PM »
Jason, thanks for the grep info.  I just updated my post to you while you were typing prolly.  ;D  I may dnld grep just to get reacquainted with it.  As to the Foobar file containing the playlist info, I can't put my finger on that.  Does it wright to the .exe?  I know there used to be list files generated in earlier versions that were named constantly with the tabs in Foobar.  I don't find any of that with v9.x

And I hear you on the AutoTurn.  PM

Returning to the thread from my own high-jack, I'm still looking for Foobar solutions.  Thanks
« Last Edit: December 04, 2010, 04:37:36 PM by U~Ca^ »
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2010, 04:36:29 PM »
Brian, what is this rescanning you speak of?  Is it a Foobar deal?  ... [goes off to search foobar for "rescan" refs.]

I didn't realize you were dealing with playlists, so my comment may not apply.

But FWIW, Foobar will maintain a library of audio files.  It's accessible via Preferences | Media Library or Library | Configure.  One may specify one or more directories as part of the library.  I have 3 different top-level directories in which I store audio.  Each top-level directory includes a subdirectory for each band/date, which in turn includes several subdirectories: .flac16 for finished 16-bit files, .flac24 for finished 24-bit files, mp3 for mp3s, and master for original master audio files.  I set Foobar2000 to exclude MP3s and WAVs from the library so they don't show up in my album list.  (I've not yet figured out a way to exclude 24-bit FLACs residing in the .FLAC24 subdirectories, unfortunately.) 

Anyway...Foobar will monitor the directories and update the Album List as I add or remove new content.  Or, I can force an update by telling Foobar2000 to re-scan or by removing a directory and re-adding it.  The contents of the library are then displayed in Foobar's Album List.  (Note not all Foobar UI's display the Album List, though it's typically accessible on the main menu under Library.)  Once you build the library (which Foobar does automatically by scanning the directories for the audio file types you specify), you then have multiple options for how to display the Album list:  by artist, artist/album, folder structure, genre, etc.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8932
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Is there a way in Foobar2000...
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2010, 05:27:33 PM »
Thanks, Bri. I'll be looking in to this soon. 

Now I'm off to a company Xmas/Holiday/Quanza/Hanukkah/[insert euphemism] party.  ::)
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.209 seconds with 40 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF