Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)  (Read 58034 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ButchAlmberg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #300 on: October 19, 2016, 10:19:03 PM »
I've been using a SanDisk Ultra Plus 16GB (48MB/s) for about 18 months without a hiccup. I want to get a couple more for my gear bag but it doesn't seem to be available any longer. Has anyone purchased an SD card recently which has proven to be compatible with the DR-70D?
Line Audio CM-3
Marantz 661 MKII  |  Tascam DR-70D

Team Line Audio

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3139
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #301 on: October 24, 2016, 03:10:21 AM »
My biggest issues with trying to matrix 4 DAUD sources is, PHASING! If all 4 of your capsules are EXACTLY on the same vertical plane, then you SHOULD be good to go! That's why I got THIS combo bar from SRS!
http://www.shapeways.com/product/J5WZFJ324/dina-din-combo?optionId=60350415

I haven't had a chance to try out the SRS combo bar yet, but I'm HOPING that having all 4 caps aligned vertically to the sound source, will help my phasing issues! It technically should, but being so far away from the sound source does some weird things to a wave lol! I normally ran one of my DAUD rigs about 4" higher and 4" farther back than my 1st pair, and I really noticed some phasing issues on a recent day of recording[8.6.16 Dumpstaphunk & Turkuaz FWIW]! That's why I wanted to get that SRS DINa/DIN bar ASAP! I just haven't taped since that show :(

You still have the difference in hypotenuses to deal with. More than one set, if you consider the house alignment between woofer & tweeter.

Not to be a wet blanket,  but the less sources you mix, the closer you can get 'em without adjustment.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline jagraham

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2826
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #302 on: October 24, 2016, 02:06:36 PM »
I've been using a SanDisk Ultra Plus 16GB (48MB/s) for about 18 months without a hiccup. I want to get a couple more for my gear bag but it doesn't seem to be available any longer. Has anyone purchased an SD card recently which has proven to be compatible with the DR-70D?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0DF-0005-00042

I just recently got one of these and it's working fine. It's on the list.
Mics: Nak CM-300s, Nak CM-100s, CP-1s, CP-2s, AT-853s(Cards, Hypers, Omnis) CA-14s(Cards, Omnis)
Pres: CA STC-9200, CA-UBB
Recorders: Tascam DR-70D, DR-2D, Edirol R-09

ISO: 1 Teac ME-120, CP-3 Caps, AT-853 Subcard Caps

Offline lsd2525

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2512
  • Gender: Male
  • Eschew obfuscation
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #303 on: October 24, 2016, 02:50:19 PM »
I've been using a SanDisk Ultra Plus 16GB (48MB/s) for about 18 months without a hiccup. I want to get a couple more for my gear bag but it doesn't seem to be available any longer. Has anyone purchased an SD card recently which has proven to be compatible with the DR-70D?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0DF-0005-00042

I just recently got one of these and it's working fine. It's on the list.

Just curious - as cheap as memory is these days, why would you go with anything less than say, 32 gig?
Mics: SKM184's; ADK A51s; AT4041; Line CM3; Superlux S502; CK91 active w/homebrew BB; AT853; Naiant X-X; Nak 300's
Recorders: M10; DR-60D; DR-70D

Offline ButchAlmberg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #304 on: October 24, 2016, 05:03:41 PM »
I was en route to a show one weekend. I knew I had an unapproved card so stopped at Walmart to get something from the approved list. The 16g was all they had. It's worked great for over a year now but I just feel that I should have a backup.
Line Audio CM-3
Marantz 661 MKII  |  Tascam DR-70D

Team Line Audio

Offline AdamSenior

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #305 on: October 25, 2016, 12:18:20 PM »
Hi All—My current TASCAM DR-70D issues have brought me to your forums—I hope you're able to help. I've tired to read through this thread but tend to get lost in some of the technical elements.

I'm an experienced "videographer" yet audio recording has never been something I needed to worry about. This has changed this week as i'm going to be recording several interviews. With this in mind I took some advice from the internet and proceeded to purchase the following to go along with me Canon 70D:
TASCAM DR-70D
Rode NTG2 Condenser Shotgun Microphone
BeachTek SC35 3.5mm Stereo Output Cable
+ SD card/Batteries etc.

After setting this up and going through many many tutorials and tips—the noise level from my Rode is so low and I'm presented with a hiss-even when in a silent room.

I'm at a loss here as I'm not technically savvy enough to know what the real issue is, though I've exhausted my knowledge base and I'm looking for some advice as the interview is this Friday so I'm clutching at straws.

I think the items I purchased should work well, as BHPHOTOVIDEO has this setup as one of their filmmaker kits.

One thing I did read was this.

"The GAIN with almost all low cost audio preamps is where you are going to introduce noise, as most units can only produce a low ­noise signal up to about HALF of their maximum gain. So ideally you want to feed your TASCAM unit a hot signal that is either LINE level or something from a hot mic. If your mic produces a weak signal you might want to add something that will cleanly amplify the mic signal BEFORE being fed to your TASCAM DR­70D recorder. ( like a Triton Audio FETHEAD inline mic preamp that runs on phantom power from your DR­70D )

This makes me worried as I assumed my equipment purchase would provide considerably better quality to what I'm working with now.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I'm in a pinch.

Thanks in advance.

Adam.



Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2736
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #306 on: October 25, 2016, 06:10:24 PM »
Hi Adam - welcome to TS!

First off, you have probably found that the menu structure is pretty confusing, as is the manual to some extent.  For a quick reference on how to adjust everything, take a look at the DR-70D FAQ.


Did you omit a preamp from your gear list?  The NTG2 is a mono mic and has an XLR output, so I'm assuming your preamp has a stereo 3.5mm output?  I'm confused by why you would be using that cable otherwise.  Without knowing that or your settings on the 70D it's hard to pin down your low level issues.

I also think that paragraph you quoted, while true in theory, is not as true as it once was.  You do not need a preamp for this setup.  The 70D should be fine on its own for what you're doing unless the subject you are recording is quite a long ways away.  Here's what I'd do:

Ditch the battery in the mic, run an XLR cable straight to the 70D, and enable phantom power.  For dialogue, I'd start with MID level gain range, but you might need to go up to HIGH.  Avoid HIGH+, as that is where the 70D preamps do finally start to get noisy.  See the FAQ if you don't know how to change these settings.

Good luck!

DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853
Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24
Tascam DR-70D JWMod | Sony PCM-M10

Tascam DR-70D FAQ
Team Line Audio
Quote
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.    ///    If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
- Gustav Mahler

Offline Craig T

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4264
    • LMA
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #307 on: October 25, 2016, 10:00:23 PM »

Did you omit a preamp from your gear list?  The NTG2 is a mono mic and has an XLR output, so I'm assuming your preamp has a stereo 3.5mm output?  I'm confused by why you would be using that cable otherwise.


3.5mm cam in/output to/from the Canon?
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2977
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #308 on: October 27, 2016, 07:31:32 AM »

Did you omit a preamp from your gear list?  The NTG2 is a mono mic and has an XLR output, so I'm assuming your preamp has a stereo 3.5mm output?  I'm confused by why you would be using that cable otherwise.


3.5mm cam in/output to/from the Canon?

I was just about to chime in with the same answer. Feeding the camera input may be the source of the noise if you don't have your gain structure correct. I use my Dr60d to feed my Canon vid cam all the time. I have to run the output from the deck at about 80% and the input on the camera at 35%. This usually gives me good levels with amplified music. Another feature that the DR60d has that I don't think the 70 does is an adjustable camera output. I guess on the 70 you have to use the line level out.
Schoeps MK41 > nBob > PFA || MBHO KA300 > PFA || Sennheiser me40-k2u || ADK S51 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012
Aerco MP2 || Grace Lunatec V2 || RAD MS2 || nBox Platinum
Marantz PMD706 || PMD620

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City

"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1662
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #309 on: October 28, 2016, 11:19:37 AM »
Concur completely with Voltronic and Goodcooker's answers.  Don't use the HIGH + setting and be careful about setting the relative levels of gain between the 70d and your camera. 


Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40689
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #310 on: November 15, 2016, 08:04:24 AM »
And start using the 70D's XLR INS, and ditch that NTG2 battery inside the mic body! Using the 70D's PHANTOM POWER, start at LOW gain, and start working towards the HIGH gain, until you get adequate settings ;) Like others have said, the HIGH+ Gain option is pretty noisy!

And the 70D can only get as quiet as your mic allows ;)
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4 (MP) & MK 41V (MP) Capsules ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's X2 ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's x2 ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's x2 ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax 3.5mm | FiiO LC 2.5c 2.5mm ->
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 5570-5521 SLV Laptop
(Pentium i5/8gb RAM/256gb SSD)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #311 on: November 19, 2016, 09:58:23 PM »
I have a question in regards to mounting the unit to a tripod. I usually run a Canon XH-A1 on a 7' tripod as a static shot. The camera is too heavy to mount on top of the 70D. I don't want to run a cold shoe post from the top of the camera to the 70D in the instances where it's fully extended to 7'. Do you guys have any suggestions for mounting/clamping this to a tripod, so I can have access to it in a lower position?
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2977
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #312 on: November 19, 2016, 10:54:20 PM »
I have a question in regards to mounting the unit to a tripod. I usually run a Canon XH-A1 on a 7' tripod as a static shot. The camera is too heavy to mount on top of the 70D. I don't want to run a cold shoe post from the top of the camera to the 70D in the instances where it's fully extended to 7'. Do you guys have any suggestions for mounting/clamping this to a tripod, so I can have access to it in a lower position?

When I am doing the same thing with my DR60d I use a superclamp and extension arm to mount the deck to the stand at eye level when I have my camera up over people's heads.

Superclamp https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/546371-REG/Manfrotto_035_035_Super_Clamp_without.html

Extension arm https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/546373-REG/Manfrotto_042_042_Extension_Arm_with.html

The only problem I had is lots more exposed cables than usual when running the deck from a bag. I put my preamp and 5V battery that runs the deck in a Crown Royal bag and hang it from one of the knobs. The cable that feeds the camera from the deck and the mic cables get gathered up and velcroed to the stand.

The Impact branded stuff is a little cheaper...
Schoeps MK41 > nBob > PFA || MBHO KA300 > PFA || Sennheiser me40-k2u || ADK S51 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012
Aerco MP2 || Grace Lunatec V2 || RAD MS2 || nBox Platinum
Marantz PMD706 || PMD620

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City

"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #313 on: November 20, 2016, 09:00:35 AM »
I have a question in regards to mounting the unit to a tripod. I usually run a Canon XH-A1 on a 7' tripod as a static shot. The camera is too heavy to mount on top of the 70D. I don't want to run a cold shoe post from the top of the camera to the 70D in the instances where it's fully extended to 7'. Do you guys have any suggestions for mounting/clamping this to a tripod, so I can have access to it in a lower position?

When I am doing the same thing with my DR60d I use a superclamp and extension arm to mount the deck to the stand at eye level when I have my camera up over people's heads.

Superclamp https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/546371-REG/Manfrotto_035_035_Super_Clamp_without.html

Extension arm https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/546373-REG/Manfrotto_042_042_Extension_Arm_with.html

The only problem I had is lots more exposed cables than usual when running the deck from a bag. I put my preamp and 5V battery that runs the deck in a Crown Royal bag and hang it from one of the knobs. The cable that feeds the camera from the deck and the mic cables get gathered up and velcroed to the stand.

The Impact branded stuff is a little cheaper...

Excellent, thank you!
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40689
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Tascam DR-70D 4-channel audio recorder (Part 7)
« Reply #314 on: December 04, 2016, 10:41:07 AM »
Whats the deal again with the Mono/Stereo/2Mix and the hard panning of channels, if you want to run 4x mono channels?

Isn't the Hard Left/Right PANNING only effective when you're in Stereo/2Mix mode?

Someone is asking me this question, but I cant remember, and I cant find the posts where we discussed it ???
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4 (MP) & MK 41V (MP) Capsules ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's X2 ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's x2 ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's x2 ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax 3.5mm | FiiO LC 2.5c 2.5mm ->
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 5570-5521 SLV Laptop
(Pentium i5/8gb RAM/256gb SSD)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.243 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF