Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...  (Read 6386 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RobC

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2005, 06:48:00 AM »
[
....the player is a samsung HD841...just a rebadged Toshiba 4960, which I think people have used successfully so I dont think it is that, but I want to rule it out...

I have a samsung HD841 and get split second gaps with the DVD-As i make with disc welder bronze.
So I wouldn't be suprised if maybe the player may have something to do with it.

what happens is my reciever unlocks and relocks on the digital signal during track changes.
I've just been buning 24 bit DVD-As as one long track for each set now
km 184 >v2> HD-P2, R-44
AKG 393, 392

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2005, 09:22:38 AM »
[
....the player is a samsung HD841...just a rebadged Toshiba 4960, which I think people have used successfully so I dont think it is that, but I want to rule it out...

I have a samsung HD841 and get split second gaps with the DVD-As i make with disc welder bronze.
So I wouldn't be suprised if maybe the player may have something to do with it.

what happens is my reciever unlocks and relocks on the digital signal during track changes.
I've just been buning 24 bit DVD-As as one long track for each set now

that is exatly what happens with me...the receiver locks and unlocks on the digi signal......that sucks that it happens with discwelder as well...

Offline sygdwm

  • unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8750
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #17 on: February 23, 2005, 10:37:22 AM »
pioneer 563a. no gaps. cheap. plays everything i throw in it.
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

And GODDAMN did I use ALOT of smilies in that post ;D 8) :smoking: :spin:
(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #18 on: February 23, 2005, 10:49:26 AM »
pioneer 563a. no gaps. cheap. plays everything i throw in it.

the HD841 and the toshiba 4960 are the same units and I thought that people used the 4960s without gaps without issue...test will be when Craig gets the disc I sent either today or tomorrow and verifies if it has gaps at all....

here is a question, you running digi out of the 563a? 

Offline sygdwm

  • unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8750
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2005, 03:49:51 PM »
yes
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

And GODDAMN did I use ALOT of smilies in that post ;D 8) :smoking: :spin:
(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #20 on: February 23, 2005, 03:54:59 PM »
yes

ok....a guy on audiocircle.com posted that there is a firmware update that I am going to try to install when I get home...hopefully that takes care of it!  will post back with results...

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #21 on: February 23, 2005, 07:24:18 PM »
flashed the firmware...good news is it loaded easily...bad news, still has gaps....

Offline sygdwm

  • unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8750
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #22 on: February 23, 2005, 10:42:45 PM »
im telling you its the player, if you follow what i said you should have no gaps.
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

And GODDAMN did I use ALOT of smilies in that post ;D 8) :smoking: :spin:
(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #23 on: February 24, 2005, 09:04:15 AM »
im telling you its the player, if you follow what i said you should have no gaps.

I am guessing that is what it is....Craig will be able to confirm that if the disc I sent him has gaps on it or not

Offline Craig T

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4273
    • LMA
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2005, 04:10:31 PM »
I received Nick's dvda.  No gaps on my player - Panasonic DVDF85.

im telling you its the player, if you follow what i said you should have no gaps.

I am guessing that is what it is....Craig will be able to confirm that if the disc I sent him has gaps on it or not
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2005, 05:03:38 PM »
thanks Craig, +T...now to get on the phone with samsung...

Offline wboswell

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't call what you're wearing an outfit
    • Trey Woodruff on guitar
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #26 on: February 28, 2005, 09:45:44 PM »
So I've finally gotten somewhere with burning from Wavelab...  I suppose the problem was with the pioneer dvdr-108 burner.  I'm using a borrowed external and having succes, sorta.  For some reason, I'm getting a split second gap between track(chapter) 1 and track 2.  No other audible gaps are heard when I listen to the rest of the disc.  Not a horribly bad thing as the first track is generally a lead-in track, but still, its a little odd.  I'm guessing that its a setup thing, but I've run through it twice now with the same results...

On another note, my Denon 2900 will output/pass a digital signal with the discs burned in Wavelab.  The discs authored in Discwelder Steel(that Damon has sent) will only output the left channel to an external DAC.

Offline RobC

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1646
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2005, 10:39:55 AM »
thanks Craig, +T...now to get on the phone with samsung...

I think my Samsung my become my Living room movie player and I will get a new one for the stereo
it would be nice to have tracked out DVD-As
km 184 >v2> HD-P2, R-44
AKG 393, 392

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #28 on: March 01, 2005, 10:40:57 AM »
I think my Samsung my become my Living room movie player and I will get a new one for the stereo
it would be nice to have tracked out DVD-As

agreed, I believe mine will be going on ebay tomorrow

Offline wboswell

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't call what you're wearing an outfit
    • Trey Woodruff on guitar
Re: Gaps with burning DVD-As with wavelab...
« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2005, 05:00:27 PM »
anyone had a hard time with the toshiba 4690 not playing well with Wavelab burned discs?  I just sent a few to a friends and he says they are not playing well together...

thanks

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF