Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?  (Read 6732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2005, 12:57:46 PM »
ok, makes sense...now as far as mixing the two goes, does it matter which source is manipulated to get them on phase?  is there a way to figure out which of the two sources is actually out of phase?  does it matter or is it just a comparison of the two?

does this make sense?

Offline heath

  • Laugh it up, Fuzzball...
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 24795
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm score!!!!!!
    • The Upstream Mend
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2005, 01:32:43 PM »
yeah, the out of phase waveform will be visible in your speaker.  when a kick drum hits, etc the cone should push OUT, not suck IN.  Whichever one does that is out of phase.

And the Sultans... yeah the Sultans play creole

 The Upstream Mend

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2005, 01:37:25 PM »
yeah, the out of phase waveform will be visible in your speaker.  when a kick drum hits, etc the cone should push OUT, not suck IN.  Whichever one does that is out of phase.



roger, so what do i do to test on my pc speakers where i do all my critical listening?  ;)

Offline jimmyrow

  • Uploader Slowpokerus
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1689
  • Gender: Male
  • 190 Years of Athletic Mediocrity
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2005, 02:13:13 PM »
I vaguely remember reading something about the 744T recording two sources out of phase, but I couldn't find it in any of the documentation on their website for fimware fixes, etc.  However, this is what seems to be the issue at hand, at least to me...

I think you're thinking of the Edirol issues (the R4 I think).....where all the old ones were recalled.......
I just can't find the time to write my mind the way I want it to read.

Offline NewHomebrew

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 139
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2005, 02:27:54 PM »
So I was actually right?  I'm such a PIMP!!!

Offline mmedley.

  • is on a salty highway burning up a lucky streak
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6075
  • Gender: Male
  • CAR RAMROD
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2005, 02:41:00 PM »
Is there a setting in the menus on the 744 to reverse the phase? Seems like I remember reading that, but hell I'm prolly way off! :P

What happens when you change the phase in WaveLab and mix? Does it fix it?
I don't know just where I'm going
But I'm gonna try for the kingdom, if I can

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2005, 02:41:36 PM »

What happens when you change the phase in WaveLab and mix? Does it fix it?

yep

Offline tractor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Gender: Male
  • B&K 4022>V2>AD2K
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2005, 03:25:52 PM »
When I first did the Portsmouth 4 Mic Mix I thought it was very bright no bass at all.  After Sulloway points me to this post I now know why.  When I get off of work I will check the montage files and see if I have the same issue.  I am 99.9% sure I do since I thought it was lacking bass. 

Dave
'Cause where there is love, there is hope

Offline mmedley.

  • is on a salty highway burning up a lucky streak
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6075
  • Gender: Male
  • CAR RAMROD
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2005, 05:11:15 PM »
When I first did the Portsmouth 4 Mic Mix I thought it was very bright no bass at all.  After Sulloway points me to this post I now know why.  When I get off of work I will check the montage files and see if I have the same issue.  I am 99.9% sure I do since I thought it was lacking bass. 

Dave

I definitely notice(d) the lack of low end on the Portsmouth FWIW.
I don't know just where I'm going
But I'm gonna try for the kingdom, if I can

Offline tractor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Gender: Male
  • B&K 4022>V2>AD2K
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2005, 05:39:34 PM »
After looking at the files again I too had the same problem.  Doing what same suggested does fix the problem.  Its like the show has life now.

Thanks Boswell and Damon for the help.

'Cause where there is love, there is hope

Offline fsulloway

  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1708
  • Gender: Male
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2005, 05:42:27 PM »
Yeah, we all might have noticed it but none of us spoke up until today.  :-[ 
schoeps ccm4's, mk4v, mk2h, mk41
AKG ck62, ck63, ck61
Nbob/pfa, Naiant/pfa
oade m148
DR680, SD 10T

"Wilmington, North Carolina....Let us hear your motherf***in' pride!" Patterson Hood 12-09-04

"Just About Unwound From Chasing Down The Sound"

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #26 on: September 07, 2005, 05:44:42 PM »
any sense of how to tell which source is out of phase?  it would make sense for it to be the mic-in on the 744 since that's the only piece of common gear in the two chains.  but the wavelab phase scope only seems to work when one channel is out of phase with the other in a 2 channel recording, not where both channels are out of phase.  heath's suggestion of looking at my speakers didn't really get it done. 

Offline mmedley.

  • is on a salty highway burning up a lucky streak
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6075
  • Gender: Male
  • CAR RAMROD
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #27 on: September 07, 2005, 05:48:14 PM »
Yeah, we all might have noticed it but none of us spoke up until today.  :-[ 

I figured you SOB's knew what you were doing!  ;D j/k

Frank, I have yet to get to the store to get a good box and some bubble rap to mail you all my stuff. I got lazy. I'll work on it tonight.
I don't know just where I'm going
But I'm gonna try for the kingdom, if I can

Offline Brian

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 9406
  • Gender: Male
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2005, 05:53:41 PM »
any sense of how to tell which source is out of phase? it would make sense for it to be the mic-in on the 744 since that's the only piece of common gear in the two chains. but the wavelab phase scope only seems to work when one channel is out of phase with the other in a 2 channel recording, not where both channels are out of phase. heath's suggestion of looking at my speakers didn't really get it done.

just load each source into WL individually.  you should be able to tell based upon the previous pictures.  i'm guessing microphone in was on tracks 1+2 and the digi went to tracks 3+4?

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: Wavelab 5.0 - mixing 2 24/96 aud sources ?
« Reply #29 on: September 07, 2005, 05:56:19 PM »
in the first pic i posted, those are unmanipulated wavs in the montage window...1+2 were mk21>v3, 3+4 were mk41>744.  i inverted the mk21 source because i didn't know and just picked one.  so comparing to those windows doesn't really give the answer does it?  what should i look for when i open them in WL?  sorry if i'm being an idiot, but well, i'm an idiot.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.241 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF