Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61  (Read 3809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JNT

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« on: March 22, 2004, 08:45:28 PM »
I've been looking at buying the JK Labs device for a while now.  Can anyone point me to some downloadable recordings made with these mics? I have only heard a few tapes made using this combination.

I've ran AKG 451s for years and have always liked the AKG sound.

Any other suggestions or opinions on this set upwould be appreciated.
 
And now for the long shot question... :)
Does anyone have a used JK labs box they are looking to sell?

Thanks,
Joe
Mostly retired from taping.

JW Mod AKG 460+CK61/CK1/CK2/CK63>V3>
or
AKG CK1x/CK2x/>MK46>JW MOD C460>V3>

AKG C34>

>R44

"Drinking will help us plan!"  Moe Szyslak

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22376
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2004, 08:48:05 PM »
you are unlikely to find one that is for sale, but to hear some samples, shoot Jon Ice a PM on this board...his handle is ice8888

Offline JNT

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
Mostly retired from taping.

JW Mod AKG 460+CK61/CK1/CK2/CK63>V3>
or
AKG CK1x/CK2x/>MK46>JW MOD C460>V3>

AKG C34>

>R44

"Drinking will help us plan!"  Moe Szyslak

Offline JNT

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2004, 09:55:48 PM »
Does anyone know the length of the active cables?  I could't find this in the email I received or on the website.

Joe
Mostly retired from taping.

JW Mod AKG 460+CK61/CK1/CK2/CK63>V3>
or
AKG CK1x/CK2x/>MK46>JW MOD C460>V3>

AKG C34>

>R44

"Drinking will help us plan!"  Moe Szyslak

Offline HydroPANIC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
  • Casey Dawg Recordings
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2004, 08:17:23 AM »
Ping DCCharlies  I think he has one....
Live Long and Lucky,
MikeO

Offline Charlies

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2004, 01:16:41 PM »
Yo, I run the JK w/the AKGs...wish I could get some of my stuff into the e-world (or, given my work schedule lately, just onto audio CD).  Wade was supposed to post my moe from 2/7 (maybe he will) with the AKG ck62 omnis->JK->148->mini...from the section no less.  Anyway, I'd be happy to B&P you some samples the old fashioned way. My 2004 efforts include moe 2/6 (ck63s) and 2/7 (ck62s), Garaj (State Theater in January)(on-stage 62s) and Jessica Lurie ensemble (early January at Blues Alley)(ck63s in hat->JK->mod sbm-1).      

The cables are not much longer than 10 feet, and may be a little shorter...Based on my experience, Jon will work with you to customize a solution.  Just expect about 6 months from the time you put your deposit down to the time you receive the rig.

Good luck!  
AKG ck61/2/3->JK Labs actives and DVC V20->722
M148, Minime, Mod SBM-1, M1

Offline Charlies

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2004, 01:18:26 PM »
Ping DCCharlies  I think he has one....

Hey MikeO, how you been?  It's been a long while...haven't heard hide nor hair from you or JAH in a while.  Either of you guys making it up to DC anytime soon?

Take care.
AKG ck61/2/3->JK Labs actives and DVC V20->722
M148, Minime, Mod SBM-1, M1

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7106
  • Gender: Male
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2004, 01:40:46 PM »
Can the caps be mod'd to run with the bodies? or do they have to use the JKL box?
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.nutritionbulk.com

Offline HydroPANIC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
  • Casey Dawg Recordings
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2004, 04:18:14 PM »
Things are going good...  Was thinking of hitting Ratdog next week.  

If you want I can help with some of your DAT transfers....  Love to hear your new setup.


Ping DCCharlies  I think he has one....

Hey MikeO, how you been?  It's been a long while...haven't heard hide nor hair from you or JAH in a while.  Either of you guys making it up to DC anytime soon?

Take care.
Live Long and Lucky,
MikeO

Offline zhianosatch

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8992
  • Gender: Male
  • god-damned hippies!
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2004, 04:25:22 PM »
Whoa, wait a minute - you're running through 3 gain stages with DVC > 148 > MiniMe, aren't you? Or am I reading this wrong?

Offline Charlies

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2004, 04:40:54 PM »
Whoa, wait a minute - you're running through 3 gain stages with DVC > 148 > MiniMe, aren't you? Or am I reading this wrong?

You're kind of reading it right, but Jon customized my DVC so that there is "0" gain to I think "20" gain (he calls it the "DVC V-20"). (I like to think that when I run the DVC at 0 gain, I am running the equivalent of just active cables->m148.) Obviously, when I run it with the m148, I have the gain at 0. And to minimize the minime gain, I go line in and use the screwdriver.  I wish I had more time to compare...(I really enjoyed the tapes I've run with just DVC w/gain on->mod sbm-1 tapes, but I also really enjoy the full rig sound).  Jon also mentioned that I really should re-set some internal jumpers if I am not running the m148, but I haven't tried that yet (and it still sounded sweet, IMO).

MikeO, Hope to see you at Ratdog, if I do not see you at one of those, I'll PM you.

And for the other post, JK Labs stuff is run with just the stock AKG ck61, 62, 63 caps....no mod'ing.

-Charlie
AKG ck61/2/3->JK Labs actives and DVC V20->722
M148, Minime, Mod SBM-1, M1

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2004, 10:42:09 PM »
He's working on a no-gain solution for me so I can run JK>PSP-2 without any trouble.  Should be here mid-May.  I'm getting 12 foot cables FWIW
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2004, 11:03:58 AM »
Just curious - has anyone inquired with the JK Labs folks if they're willing / able to re-tool an existing pre to support actives, a la the Lemosax (SX-M2/LS2)?  I'm thinking Sax / PSP2 / MP2 modded to support AKG or other caps, so you have only a single box instead of JK box + pre.  (Though I suppose the V-20 Charlie mentions negates the need for a pre in the chain.)
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Charlies

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2004, 03:17:49 PM »
Just curious - has anyone inquired with the JK Labs folks if they're willing / able to re-tool an existing pre to support actives, a la the Lemosax (SX-M2/LS2)?  I'm thinking Sax / PSP2 / MP2 modded to support AKG or other caps, so you have only a single box instead of JK box + pre.  (Though I suppose the V-20 Charlie mentions negates the need for a pre in the chain.)

Brian:  That would be sweet...!  I think a similar discussion was had back on the Oade board...I can't remember whether it was Jon/JK doing it or another professional...but I think the bottom line was that someone would have to be willing to risk the entire loss of the unit-to-be-modified  to get it done (i.e., the professional wasn't going to guarantee that he wouldn't break the unit trying to mod it).  For some reason, I doubt Jon would bite on this...you practically have to beg him to make his standard unit, no less a modified JK unit...You want to offer up the Sax for sacrifice and give it a try? ;D FWIW, I am struggling with whether I need to keep the m148...the JK DVC and its gain sound sweet on their own!
AKG ck61/2/3->JK Labs actives and DVC V20->722
M148, Minime, Mod SBM-1, M1

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2004, 01:33:19 AM »
Jon is willing to work with you on this... he was going to do a combo PSP-2/active circuitry box until I decided to keep the PSP-2 intact for use with the TL's.  Send him an email and I'm sure he'll try to work with you.  Tell him Lee send you ;)
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline AnalogAndy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2004, 03:17:49 PM »
Charlies?? Hey man, I'm gonna be at the Ratdog show tonight (31Mar) and MikeO has told me you can hook me up w/a usb patch from your minime. I'll be wearin a John C. Stennis ball cap. Its blue with an American flag on the side. Thanks if you can help.

Peace,
AnalogAndy

Offline Papaphunk

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 582
Re: JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2020, 09:45:33 AM »
Anyone still use this box to power their AKG Mics ?
****************************************************
AKG CK-63 ULS Hyper Cards > nbob AKG Active Cable > nBox Plus 
AKG c480b Bodies - AKG CK61 ULS Card Caps
Studio Projects C4 Hyper/Card/Omni Caps
CA-11 Omni's  - CA 9200 PreAmp
Busman MOD Tascam DR-70D - TASCAM DR-100MKII 
****************************************************

900 Recordings on archive: https://archive.org/details/@papaphunk

Online goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3457
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: JK Labs DVC for AKG CK61
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2020, 09:55:51 AM »
Anyone still use this box to power their AKG Mics ?

The person that made these disappeared many years ago. Even if you were able to find one there would be no one to service it or provide any support. Go with an Nbox solution if at all possible. Nick is great about supporting his products even after they have changed hands multiple times as taping gear often does.
Joly Mod Oktava MK012 C,H,O || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 or Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.069 seconds with 59 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF