Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Transferring DAT to PC  (Read 2297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline morst

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4298
  • Hey Now!
    • #twitterSUCKS
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2020, 11:15:35 AM »
Coaxial is S/Pdif over copper.
DA-20 has that, Coaxial digital, not digital optical connectors for I/O.

Is that the old orange ended cord I gave away 25 years ago? Could I use any red/white style RCA cords instead?
If there's recommended high quality SPDIF Coax cords plz let me know.
I'm running from 3800 to MarantzPMD661.
My CDR is giving me OPC errors and I never contemplated taping into my solid state to transfer DATs.


A regular yellow tipped RCA "video cable" will work fine for SP/dif. The difference between audio and video RCA cables is that the audio cables have both conductors running as a twisted pair, with the ground as a shield. The video cable has a single signal conductor down the middle, and uses the ground conductor as the shield to reduce RF interference.
You can probably get away with a short RCA audio cable though!!
Merrick Garland *was* a compromise, and just look.

Offline adamz

  • Site Supporter
  • (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2020, 09:41:45 PM »
 :coolguy:

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1987
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2020, 10:27:22 AM »

A regular yellow tipped RCA "video cable" will work fine for SP/dif. The difference between audio and video RCA cables is that the audio cables have both conductors running as a twisted pair, with the ground as a shield. The video cable has a single signal conductor down the middle, and uses the ground conductor as the shield to reduce RF interference.
You can probably get away with a short RCA audio cable though!!

I always wondered what the difference was.  I will confess when I did a ton of radio station DATs, I just used a short RCA.  The run was 3 feet.  Worked fine. 
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline fogelsong

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2020, 12:44:39 PM »
Somebody has released Win10 drivers for the M-Audio cards
There always is compatibility mode, and if you're bold, virtualization in Win10 that runs a WinXP virtual PC inside 10 with driver support.

Apologies for delayed response. I checked with M-Audio and the Delta Dio 2496 (the card I have) is not listed on their Windows 10 Support for M-Audio Products page - https://m-audio.com/kb/article/1882

Could you be more specific on Win10 drivers? Who is this "somebody" that has released Win10 drivers for the M-Audio cards?

I ran into an issue attempting to transfer one DAT due to it having a 32kHz sampling rate - unfortunately the Marantz PMD670 does not handle 32kHz digitally - just 44.1 and 48. I'd rather not do an analog transfer if I can avoid it, so utilizing the ol' Delta Dio 2496 is my best bet. And if you're wondering why that DAT is 32kHz sampling rate, they're radio broadcasts...

Does anyone know if there are working Windows 10 x64 drivers for the Delta Dio 2496 out there?

Offline adamz

  • Site Supporter
  • (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #19 on: August 28, 2020, 09:40:31 PM »
...

The MicroTrack records to an SD card mounted in a CF card adapter. I take the SD card to my editing desktop PC.
I picked up a MicroTrack II that seems like new. So I'll give it a go.
Question: is there a limit on the SD Card in the CF adapter you speak of? The CF card I have is 3Gb which I'd rather be 512!
Thanks, great thread. Sorry IDK about windows 10 drivers for you.
AZ

Offline jerryfreak

  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5466
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2020, 09:46:14 PM »
32GB is a safe bet.

ive never found SDXC to be as reliable as SDHC, esp in equipment that old

test test test!
People whose posts I wont see:
 capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62, Dr. Bickart

Offline adamz

  • Site Supporter
  • (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2020, 09:53:02 PM »
 :coolguy:

32GB is a safe bet.

ive never found SDXC to be as reliable as SDHC, esp in equipment that old

test test test!

Offline Barney

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2020, 05:03:19 AM »
Hey,

I have a bunch of DATs I'd like to transfer too... Unfortunately, all my DAT machines seems to be dead. I checked maybe 10 years ago, and my Tascam DA302 and Sony TCD-D7 has diginoises when playing my DATs. The Tascam even had a tendency to eat my DATs...

My option is to buy a second hand DAT machine (32Khz/44.1Khz/48Khz) to make the transfer process. What kind of machine do you advise? What are the ones to be avoided?

Online goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2020, 10:29:16 AM »
Hey,

I have a bunch of DATs I'd like to transfer too... Unfortunately, all my DAT machines seems to be dead. I checked maybe 10 years ago, and my Tascam DA302 and Sony TCD-D7 has diginoises when playing my DATs. The Tascam even had a tendency to eat my DATs...

My option is to buy a second hand DAT machine (32Khz/44.1Khz/48Khz) to make the transfer process. What kind of machine do you advise? What are the ones to be avoided?

I have a Tascam DA30. It has been fairly reliable after a tune up by a local tech sometimes it takes a couple of tries to  load a tape and it acts a little quirky sometimes,. I also have a Fostex D5 which has been a workhorse and plays every tape I throw at it with no errors.

I would avoid portable decks with half size heads and plastic gears. Go for a full size home/studio deck.

Other people recommend the Sony R500 very highly.
Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jerryfreak

  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5466
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2020, 10:33:53 AM »
ive ran about 100 dats in the last few days on 4x r500 and a 3700

looking at the files im seeing occasional issues that are hard to nail down, either card or recorder issues dropping the same 148 samples on multiple R500>pmd661 setups. microtrack II acted flaky with some channel swap/channel drop action.... but thats why i only do redundant.

most are going well considering they are over 20 years old. i only watch error counters, not ABS time . 4 of the 5 decks im running stay in the low single digits, the other one seems to be permanently in the 0010-0050 range and still transfers bit-accurately, no worse than the others when i compare. once in a great while a head clogs up but i think ive used a cleaning tape maybe once or twice in years

the R500s have a swab-type cleaning arm that cleans the head every 10-20 hours on powerup
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 10:44:47 AM by jerryfreak »
People whose posts I wont see:
 capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62, Dr. Bickart

Offline fogelsong

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2020, 08:29:49 PM »
I'll second that on avoiding portable DAT decks. I know at least a few people with Sony PCM-M1s that eat tapes now :(

My old Tascam DA-20mkii is still going strong.

If a deck simply will not open, that does not mean it's dead. It just means the grease that previously lubricated the moving parts inside has turned sticky and glue like. It can be fixed, but it's a PITA. See this thread over at tapeheads - http://www.tapeheads.net/showthread.php?t=53001

Offline MakersMarc

  • (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4871
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2020, 12:20:28 PM »
Hhb portadat. Unkillable.
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520 amp>B&W V202 speakers.

Offline jerryfreak

  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5466
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #27 on: October 17, 2020, 12:25:20 PM »
Hhb portadat. Unkillable.

i have 2 over here that need servicing. one eats tapes and the other wont load them at all
People whose posts I wont see:
 capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62, Dr. Bickart

Offline live2496

  • (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 674
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2020, 01:13:46 PM »
I use an RME Multiface for anything requiring SPDIF capture. RME drivers still work on Windows 10.

Gordon
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline yousef

  • (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transferring DAT to PC
« Reply #29 on: November 12, 2020, 04:08:11 PM »
I'm sure I've said this before but I thought my DATs were dying due to all the diginoise and gaps when trying to transfer them using a full size Sony machine.

Playback through the D8 I used to actually record them has thus far proved problem-free. A bit of light Googling revealed several people who'd had problems playing back "portable" tapes on a full size deck - sounds like the alignment had to be spot on to guarantee compatibility.

Currently transferring my DATs for hopefully the last time...
music>other stuff>ears
my recordings: http://db.etree.org/yousef
http://www.manchestertaper.co.uk
twitter: @manchestertaper

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.06 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF