Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Which hand held recorder to buy?  (Read 3140 times)

Offline GATaper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Which hand held recorder to buy?
« on: June 25, 2008, 06:03:30 PM »
Thanks for reading. I have been taping since 1997 but have been out of the loop for a while. I am considering buying a pair of Core Sound HEB's and a small handheld recorder for stealthing. I hardly ever do open taping, so size matters. I was considering:

Zoom H2 - Excellent price and good reviews
Marantz PMD620 - Size, but bad reviews
Olympus LS-10 - Size, price and good reviews

Does anyone have any experience with the above three and HEBs?  ??? Thanks for any suggestions. Also, if you think there are a better sounding pair of stealth mics that are the same size as the HEBs, I'd love to hear your thoughts on those as well. :coolguy:

Wes ;D

Offline itook2much

• Taperssection All-Star
  • AKA rspencer
    • my masters
Re: Which hand held recorder to buy?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2008, 06:11:56 PM »
I have the same mics.  I really like my set-up running them into the Edirol R-09.  I haven't usd the 3 you've listed.

Welcome to TS.com.  Do a search.  I'm sure there are plenty of threads & posts about those recorders.
DPA 4060 (CS HEB) > CS BB > Edirol R-09

Backups:  DPA 4060 (1/8"), SP-BMC-2, SP-SPSB-6, Sony MZ-NH1

Quote from: tomluvsgiants
rule #1 - get the show taped
rule #2 - see rule #1    >:D

Quote from: Grace Hopper
“If it's a good idea, go ahead and do it. It's much easier to apologize than it is to get permission.”

Offline Sunday Driver

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2008, 06:13:43 PM »
No experience with the HEB (I'm sure many others can post more...), but in terms of recorders, I would suggest the Edirol R-09HR over the ones that you picked. It is at just about the same price point and is perfect for what we do.
You either record it or it's gone forever.
My Tapes