Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: JB3 external power  (Read 61180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10097
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #270 on: April 29, 2004, 08:31:23 AM »
Came across this, do you think it can power a jb3?

http://www.nemeng.com/equipment/powerpack.html

bill, that thing looks pretty good.  you going for the 5v?  it would be sweet to run that instead of sla's.  let us know.

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline Styx Cover Band

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
  • AKG C1000s>AT CP8201>JB3
    • Bills Trading List
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #271 on: April 29, 2004, 01:40:06 PM »
Came across this, do you think it can power a jb3?

http://www.nemeng.com/equipment/powerpack.html

bill, that thing looks pretty good.  you going for the 5v?  it would be sweet to run that instead of sla's.  let us know.

jr

Yeah I was going for the 5v. I just emailed the guy to see if he has any in stock, if he does I'll order it today. Only bad thing is it is coming from Australia
-Bill
When you start a cover band who says Styx?

They say ostrich has less fat, but you eat more of it

Offline Sterling

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 625
  • Gender: Male
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #272 on: May 12, 2004, 02:53:38 PM »
I have pics up of the cable that I made. thanks for the help guys!

Offline keepongoin

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5435
  • Gender: Male
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #273 on: May 12, 2004, 03:20:32 PM »
Came across this, do you think it can power a jb3?

http://www.nemeng.com/equipment/powerpack.html

bill, that thing looks pretty good.  you going for the 5v?  it would be sweet to run that instead of sla's.  let us know.

jr

Yeah I was going for the 5v. I just emailed the guy to see if he has any in stock, if he does I'll order it today. Only bad thing is it is coming from Australia

does that plug fit the jb3, or do you have to order it with a different plug?
“When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying the cross.” Sinclair Lewis: How Fascism Will Come To America (1935)

"Science is facts; just as houses are made of stones, so is science made of facts; but a pile of stones is not a house and a collection of facts is not necessarily science."- Henri Poincare

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/pierce

Offline recordista

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • WTF?
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #274 on: May 12, 2004, 03:35:17 PM »
Came across this, do you think it can power a jb3?

http://www.nemeng.com/equipment/powerpack.html

Sure, but why not just make your own?  8x AA holders are easy to find and if you're using rechargeables, you don't need the regulator.

http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T042/1195.pdf lists them for $1.46 and you'd need about ten minutes to rewire the pack for 5V.  There are also C and D cell options.

Offline Sterling

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 625
  • Gender: Male
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #275 on: May 12, 2004, 10:05:12 PM »
Test is done, I got 20+ (closer to 21) for both UA5 and JB3 off of a 12V 12ah battery.

I think I will test once more because my battery on my JB3 was not full and some time was spend in the beginning recharging the JB3. Not sure if this would effect it but I have another 12V I 'm going to test so we'll see anyway.


Offline fozzy

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • Gender: Male
  • move along, nothing much to see here
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #276 on: May 13, 2004, 12:37:22 AM »
Yea if the JB3 is not charged it will suck i belive twice as much power.  FWIW i got 15+ hours running JB3 > home digi-mod UA5 > MK012  off a 7.2ah SLA.

What mics you running

MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > 722

Offline BCostigan

  • I can resist everything except temptation
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3695
  • Gender: Male
  • Loose Lucy is my delight
    • GranitePhotography
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #277 on: May 13, 2004, 07:14:26 AM »
Came across this, do you think it can power a jb3?

http://www.nemeng.com/equipment/powerpack.html

Sure, but why not just make your own?  8x AA holders are easy to find and if you're using rechargeables, you don't need the regulator.

http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T042/1195.pdf lists them for $1.46 and you'd need about ten minutes to rewire the pack for 5V.  There are also C and D cell options.

Why would you not need the regulator?  Everyone seems to agree that the JB3 is pretty fussy on needing 5V....AA,C,D batteries are all either 1.2 or 1.5 volts each.
"A Hippie is someone who walks like Tarzan, looks like Jane, and smells like Cheetah."  ~Ronald Reagan

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #278 on: May 13, 2004, 08:04:56 AM »
good question brian

has anyone tried that lil batt pack thing yet??
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #279 on: May 13, 2004, 08:49:30 AM »
I'm gonna need a 9V  batpack for this new HD recorder of mine.

The guy Styx linked to looks pretty interesting.  If I'm running NiMH in those, and the Neuros uses:

DC output: 9V at .8 amp

what does this mean in hours of use if this guy's 9V batpack rated at 14.4 Wh?

I know a*v=w but they threw hours in there and it fucked me all up :-D

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #280 on: May 13, 2004, 09:20:46 AM »
watts are TOTAL power used, amps are one kind of power

i would dig in my books schwill, but i dont feel like it now, sorry;)
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #281 on: May 13, 2004, 10:08:55 AM »
so could one buy the (4) AA holder and fill it with 3 1.2v batts and a 1.5 bringing us to 5.1v?  is this too high for the Jb3 ?

How about 4x 1.2v batts + 4.8v will this run it? Im still suprised that the 4.5v car adaptor run's it ok.

 I just put together a SLA pack for the JB3 and UA-5 already. That is what I will be using at the upcoming Fest , But I will also be taping alot of Indoors (2-3 hour) shows.  And I was thinking this may be a bit nicer/lighter for the short shows as that way i could just lug the SLA around for fest's only.

Nick

AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #282 on: May 13, 2004, 10:35:33 AM »
well, it said it has a regulato, so it will keep it a constant voltage, no worries
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #283 on: May 13, 2004, 10:36:16 AM »
it's actually an 8 battery holder and the guy says he uses circuits to regulate voltage no matter what you put in it ???

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re:JB3 external power
« Reply #284 on: May 13, 2004, 10:41:27 AM »
so could one buy the (4) AA holder and fill it with 3 1.2v batts and a 1.5 bringing us to 5.1v?  is this too high for the Jb3 ?

How about 4x 1.2v batts + 4.8v will this run it? Im still suprised that the 4.5v car adaptor run's it ok.

You probably don't want to mix NiMH and alkaline batts, and besides - the voltage would be too high.  Though NiMH rechargable cells are rated at 1.2v and alkaline cells are rated at 1.5v, the actual output voltage of each is significantly higher.

I've read reports from some people who've had success running the NJB3 off 4 x 1.2v NiMH rechargable cells, and others report the need to drain the batts a bit to drop the voltage to fit within the NJB3's narrow voltage range.  I'm going to try it out this spring as I have 4 x D-cell NiMH's not being used right now.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 57 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF