Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How best avoid SBE when sets and disks don't add up?  (Read 2265 times)

Offline slowburn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
How best avoid SBE when sets and disks don't add up?
« on: July 22, 2008, 03:15:53 PM »
So I ran into a problem for the first time (don't do many acts with set breaks). I have a master from a show with 2 sets. I had set 1 as one file and set 2 as another. I opened both in cdwave and split each independently. When I then put all tracks (from both sets) into traders little helper,with align on sector boundaries using fix selected, the last track of set 1 gets 700 bytes to be carried over for sector alignment. Each track on the second set gets the same.

All tracks get a successfully encoded and at the end there is a no errors occured.

I think I understand what happened. The last song on set 1 wasn't the exact length it needed to be to end on the correct frame.

I did do fade in/outs at both sets. To further complicate set 2 is to long to fit on a cd but if you move a couple of songs from set 2 to end of cd 1 the whole show will fit on 2 cd.

I'ld prefer not to put the 2 sets in different folders.

1. Should I care or just post as is. Will there be SBE's or not burning disks from these flacs?
2. Does these 'bytes to be carried over' matter at all?
3. Would there be a problem for anyone burning set 1 + 3 tracks from set 2 to one cd?
4. Is there an easier way to avoid this than to make one file of both sets and split from that one file instead?

Thanks for any advice. My only working cd burner is acting up so I can't really burn to check anything myself right now.

Offline jkbyram

• Taperssection Underachiever
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: How best avoid SBE when sets and disks don't add up?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 03:23:24 PM »