Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: how to record a chor in a church?  (Read 1175 times)

Offline Manuell

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
how to record a chor in a church?
« on: December 21, 2008, 06:29:29 PM »
Can anyone help me and give me some advices?
I want to record a chor in a church. I have never done that before :-)
I can use the edirol r-44 and two microphones (beyerdynamic mce72 and mce86)
Maybe someone can help me. which samplerate would be the best and where must I put the mics?

Thanks
Manuel

Offline sunjan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Taping since 1988, 28 years of fine recordings...
    • Just a handful of stuff I put on etree
Re: how to record a chor in a church?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2008, 06:46:19 PM »
Looking at the datasheet of my AT853s, they are choir mics and are made to hang suspended from the ceiling, maybe 10m away or so from the choir, depending on the size of the choir and venue of course.

I don't know anything about the Beyerdynamic mics, and what placement they are originally meant for.
If you put the name/model number of the mic in the subject line of your first posting, you will get more relevant responses.

Sample rate: 24bit/48kHz is usually enough, but if you have enough storage there's no harm going higher.
Mics: A-51s LE, CK 930, Line Audo CM3, AT853Rx (hc,c,sc),  ECM 121, ECM 909A
Pres: Tinybox, CA-9100, UA5 wmod
Recorders: M10, H116 (CF mod), H340, NJB3
Gearbag: High Sierra Corkscrew
MD transfers: MZ-RH1. Tape transfers: Nak DR-1
Photo rig: Nikon D70, 18-70mm/3.5-4.5, SB-800

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: how to record a chor in a church?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2008, 09:25:59 PM »