Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recording a pop band with 2 mics  (Read 1530 times)

Offline Blacknoise

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Recording a pop band with 2 mics
« on: May 01, 2009, 08:46:07 PM »
Hi there,

I'm currently studying the 3rd year of a music production degree, this year I have to do a location recording project (a classical, jazz and pop recording, the former 2 are in the bag). The problem is I only have a 2-in audio interface, and my university is only willing to supply mics (probably 2 C414's or similar). How could I get a satisfactory capture of a pop/rock band, and how can I stop the PA causing me any problems?

I also had the idea of using 2 laptops, with 2 mics feeding in to each one, would it sound good with a stereo mic and spot mics on the kick drum and vox? or would this create too many phase issues?

Thanks in advance

Rob

Offline setboy

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Recording a pop band with 2 mics
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 10:56:29 PM »
How many and what are in the band?
Will there be an audience?
Are you trying to get the recording from the stage where you will be picking up the sounds coming out of the amps? or will you be setting up so you can get it from the PA?

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2009, 12:55:17 AM »