Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: My first records  (Read 5118 times)

Offline hypermus1c

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
My first records
« on: November 22, 2009, 01:42:35 PM »
Hello,

I'm a french newbie in the taper's world and i just would some help to have a good and clean sound when recording a gig  :)

I had first an edirol R09-HR for the first gig (Placebo) and I did not set correctly the Edirol (Limiter/AGC ON, Mic Gain High) and the sound was very bad and very saturated too !
For the second gig (Muse), I correctly set the Edirol (with help of french forum) (24bits/44,1kHz, Limiter/AGC OFF, Low Cut ON and MIC GAIN Low), the sound quality was better but little dull.

I received this week the CA-9100 preamp and CA-14 omni and cardio... Cool :-)
I'm going to a gig next week (Franz Ferdinand) and would like help on setting the Edirol and CA-9100.

Here are the first parameters of the Edirol :
Limiter / AGC : OFF
PlugIn Power : OFF
Always 24bits/44, 1kHz
For Low Cut Is it better to be ON with a choice of 100, 200 or 400 Hz or to put OFF?

How to adjust the input level of the Edirol with the gain of the CA-9100? Should we adjust the input level with an average value (not to exceed the number 20 on the screen of the Edirol)?
How to adjust the gain of the CA-9100? Just before that the light on the right o the gain button does not light?

Otherwise, I intend to use the cardio (it's a hall of 5,000 people). Is that OK ? What is for you the best place for microphones for the recording ?

If you have some ideas :)
Thank you in advance !)
Bye.

Offline rhinowing

• Needs to get out more...
    • SPLRA - Smashing Pumpkins Live Recording Association
Re: My first records
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2009, 02:47:01 PM »
always leave the low-cut off. better to reduce the bass on the computer than to have a recording with no bass at all
Please contact me if you've ever taped the Smashing Pumpkins or a related group!