Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best budget/mid cardioid mic/mics for use with PCM-M10?  (Read 6535 times)

Offline philgp

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Best budget/mid cardioid mic/mics for use with PCM-M10?
« on: September 25, 2010, 10:45:04 PM »
Hi guys, I'm a newbie here, and I hope to take full advantage of the "newbies welcome" claim! So please be patient with me.

I used to do some taping with the cheapest stereo Sony cardio mic and my MD player. I moved from MD to mp3 for my music listening, and abandoned it for recording too. I didn't replace it with anything for recording for years.

Recently I got a PCM-M10 because of the good things I'd been hearing about it (actually, I went into the electronics mall in Beijing looking for a Zoom H2 or an Edirol E-09R, but nowhere had either of those and the Sony was everywhere, so I did some quick research using a store-owner's laptop on this new machine and decided to drop the cash, firstly because I had no choice, secondly because, fortunately, it seemed like it was as good, maybe even a step better, than the aforementioned two). As an introduction, I tried taping using the internal omni mics. It came out so-so. I'm hoping to use my PCM-M10 with external mics from now on.

My questions:
1. Anyone have any recommendations for a stealth stereo mic/mics, probably cardioid? My budget is a couple hundred dollars so probably no Shures! Are there any good ones that run off the ~2.5V plug-in power? That would be ideal. However, if there are any that require more voltage that are still cheap, but significantly better, I would also consider (see separate question about battery boxes below).
2. Cardioids are more suitable for recording rock/metal shows, right? Am I right in saying cardioids are uni directional, whereas omni stands for omnidirectional?