Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best way to remaster voice recordings  (Read 1725 times)

Offline linv5800

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Best way to remaster voice recordings
« on: December 07, 2010, 05:14:23 PM »
Hey all ,
  First off , I LOVE THIS SITE ! Great stuff here .
I recently recorded a comedy show by Tosh from Comedy Central .
It came out pretty well but could use some improvements .
I have Majix audio cleaner , Adobe soundbooth and audacity .
Any suggestions on the best way to bring the voice out into the front and
kill some noise ? Im new to this so any help will be most appreciated !
Thanks all !

Edit - i used my sony mz-n1 mini-disc recorder with a sony ecm-ds70p ,
a real one , not one of the knock-off's . just fyi
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 05:19:22 PM by linv5800 »
Video Cameras - HD Sony CX-150 - HD Canon HG10 -
Still Photo Cameras -  Nikon D-40 w- 18mm-55mm Nikor Lens - And A 70mm-300mm Signa Lens
Sound Recording - Sony MZ-N1 Mini-disc - Olympus WS-320M Flash Drive , accually not a bad little machine
Microphone - Sony ECM - DS70P  -  Sony ECM - DS70P Knock-off , a fake . Not Too Bad - Looking for good mics ,

Offline PeteJE

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Best way to remaster voice recordings
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 09:55:21 PM »
As far as EQ goes - look for boosting the vocal fundamentals (~2K on the top and ~200 or a bit higher for the bottom).  Roll off (shelving) starting at 80hz up to as high as 100hz (especially if there is a lot of ambient room).  I like to keep the higher freqs, but, if it helps, a similar roll off very high (12K +) might help dependent on the noise in the track.