Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: sound card for recording via s/pdif  (Read 3214 times)

Offline marklar

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
sound card for recording via s/pdif
« on: June 05, 2011, 04:55:53 PM »
I want to use the line out from my pcm-d50 to record on my PC, thus gaining multitracking capability.
What sound cards are best suited for this purpose?  Preferrably USB.

I'm new to recording on the PC, so I don't know what the ins and outs or limitations are. 
However, in theory it seems simple enough: only two features are required to do high quality accoustic recordings.
A sound card that supports s/pdif or toslink line in at the same frequency and bit rates as the pcm-d50 in should result in the following:
1. it takes in the digital signal with minimal latency (to enable laying down a new track simultaneously with the playback of existing tracks)
2. due to the digitized signal, the recorded track should be effectively identical what would have been recorded by the pcm-d50

Are these assumptions in the ballpark?

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
Re: sound card for recording via s/pdif
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2011, 05:04:48 PM »
I want to use the line out from my pcm-d50 to record on my PC, thus gaining multitracking capability.
What sound cards are best suited for this purpose?  Preferrably USB.

I'm new to recording on the PC, so I don't know what the ins and outs or limitations are. 
However, in theory it seems simple enough: only two features are required to do high quality accoustic recordings.
A sound card that supports s/pdif or toslink line in at the same frequency and bit rates as the pcm-d50 in should result in the following:
1. it takes in the digital signal with minimal latency (to enable laying down a new track simultaneously with the playback of existing tracks)