Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Microdot connector  (Read 4009 times)

Offline wal

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Microdot connector
« on: September 21, 2011, 12:31:24 AM »
Hi all,
I am an electronics engineer from Manchester, UK..
Just wondered if anyone here has fitted a microdot connector to a DPA 4060 etc?
Is a special tool required?
Cheers,
Wal...

Offline darktrain

• Trade Count: (715)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Whats next?
Re: Microdot connector
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 07:46:52 AM »
If you are referring to the female connector, the one that would be on the battery pack or pre then you can get those parts rigjt from dpa, at least you can here in the states

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 09:37:01 AM »
As far as I'm aware, there are three microdot connectors:
1) the male cable connector (which is what is on the mic lead)
2) female panel connector (like what is on the MMA6000 preamp)
3) female barell connector (used for connecting two male dots on extention cables, custom 'Y's etc)

The male microdot connector requires a special DPA installation crimp tool.  I don't think the female panel requires any special tools, but I haven't installed one.  the barrel connecor has a treaded body and simply screws in to the male.

Note that I may have the gender description backwards.  I'm refering to the center signal lead itself, not the threaded connection part, which is the opposite gender.  Example: the barrel connector is threaded male on it's outside (like a screw), but has a female connection for the center conductor.
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience