Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Taping with a Marantz 661 and and MP2 Pre  (Read 2520 times)

Offline grindstone2

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Grindstone Music
Taping with a Marantz 661 and and MP2 Pre
« on: October 12, 2011, 04:10:55 PM »
I am new to taping, new to the 661 and MP2 and I have run into some trouble with this setup:

Here's the gear:  AKG C-460/ULS61 > SD MP-2 > MARANTZ PMD-661 OADE CONCERT MOD

Here's a description of my trouble:  I recorded a Keller Williams show on Friday night, I may not have needed the MP2 but I ran the mics to it's XLR inputs and then out XLR to the XLR/line in on the PMD-661.  Once I realized I had a problem, I ran different gain levels from the MP2 ranging from nothing which still put out a signal to about -15db average max on the MP and on the 661 I stayed at -12db adjusted for whatever was coming through from the MP2.   The recording brickwalled every time.  I bypassed the MP2 and went directly into the 661 for the rest of the show and it came out great!

The only time that I was able to achieve success was recoding the piano concerts since the audio is very soft in the church.    Apparently I really need the MP2 in that setting.

The guy I bought from responded to my PM as follows (the second reply after I finally revealed I was using A 661):

Reply 1: The MP-2 puts out 6dbs of gain throught the tape out even when turned to Zero and 16db throught the XLR out when at Zero.  That is how it was built and not a problem.  The MP-2 works fine you can check my many recordings on LMA and see it has great results.  The MP-2 puts out a really hot signal and my guess is your recorder can't handle the signal and your recorder input is distorting.  Try turning down the gain on your recorder.  I don't know what you use, but I'm positive that is your problem.