Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SD 302 & DR-680  (Read 3379 times)

Offline DBYDWN83

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
SD 302 & DR-680
« on: October 18, 2011, 10:50:56 AM »
Hello,
Asking a question here as I'm hopeful there's a DR-680 owner that can nudge me along. I'm a sound NOOB with new gear and trying to sort out all the technical issues. I have an SD-302 and a Tascam DR-680. My SD-302 is set up to output the factory standard +4db line out, and the 1k tone hits it's meters at O.

When feeding the SD 302 into the Tascam, with the Tascam's built-in limiter OFF, the 1k tone goes to about -20db on the Tascam's meter. Would this be correct?  With the limiter on, it's the same thing.

However, when sending a real signal in from the SD 302, and adjusting the input level on the Tascam, I still can't get anything higher than about -35db. I have to crank the SD-302 to 75%
to get this. A very low signal.

Should I even have to use the input levels on the Tascam? I thought the idea was that it would take any signal up until the point of clipping, and the volume would be controlled by the preamp.

Just trying to get these two going, and learning along the way.

Thanks,
Parker
« Last Edit: October 18, 2011, 12:50:11 PM by DBYDWN83 »

Offline Todd R

• Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: SD 302 & DR-680
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 01:13:58 PM »
Careful, all db's are not the same -- for instance, dbm is a measure of power, dbV and dbu are measures of voltage, and dbFS (db referenced to Full Scale digital for pcm encoding) is a measurement of the digital scale.  dbV and dbu are analog measures of voltage and cannot be compared directly/universally with the digital dbFS as their relationships depend on the actual equipment being used.