Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: new taper needs some help  (Read 4076 times)

Offline phish_sticks

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
new taper needs some help
« on: March 18, 2012, 12:37:37 AM »
Hey guys, I was just told about the site so figured id check it out and so far i've already learned a bit lol Im completely knew to taping so all of this seems like a foreign language so far. I always thought it was cool the people who went to shows and taped and always wanted to get into it but never really had the money or any knowledge in music gear and recording.

Well recently a friend of mine gifted me a brand new Tascam DR-40. I started playing with it the other night and its pretty cool. I took it to a small show (a phish cover band) at a bar in the city and set it up on a table and it recorded pretty good. only 1 problem was that you could hear a lot of the crowd. How do I stop that?

I was told that if I wanted to record a bigger show like phish I should get some mics to use instead of the built in ones. Im just curious how big the difference is?

Basically could ya guys help a noob out? I hate being a noob and asking for help but i've been researching and ive come to a stand still with this. Thanks and much appreciated guys!

Offline rjp

• Taperssection Member
  • You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
Re: new taper needs some help
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 01:11:58 PM »
A general rule here is that external mics are a Good Thing, no matter what. In any case, getting the mics off the table and into the air will help a lot. External mics and a tall stand with a stereo mounting bar are necessities.