Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Converting to dual-mono  (Read 3858 times)

Offline santiam

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Converting to dual-mono
« on: July 20, 2012, 03:02:04 PM »
I made my first recording at a recent rock concert, and it turned out surprisingly well for my first attempt.  The only problem was the drunk on my right who insisted on clapping out of rhythm and singing out of tune through the whole performance.  The seats were assigned, so there wasn’t much I could do.

The noise is much less noticeable on the left channel, so I would like to delete the right channel and use the left channel to convert the recording to dual-mono.  I’ve heard this is pretty simple to do in programs like Audacity, but I’ve never tried it before.  I would greatly appreciate any instructions or advice on how to do this.  Is there a preferred program for this type of editing?  Thanks.

Offline brad.bartels

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Converting to dual-mono
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 04:21:44 PM »
I've done this several times in Audacity. Usually when one channel is trashed but the other one is good for whatever reason and I've had a couple of cable issues where one mike dropped out for a majority of the recording. Sounds similar to what you have. It is very easy in Audacity (even I figured it out). Will post a quick step by step later when I can sit down with Audacity and walk through it. I just did it a couple of days ago with a couple of mono recordings for somebody else - same process with the exception of deleting the bad channel first. There are some other threads you can find here about converting mono to stereo (which is basically what you'll be doing once you delete the bad channel) - some tricks like adding delay, reverb, eq'ing the 2 channels differently, etc. Basiclly some tricks you can do to make it sound a little more like a stereo recording.

Offline brad.bartels

• Trade Count: (4)