Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need advice on products and set-up  (Read 4772 times)

Offline mjarema414

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Need advice on products and set-up
« on: January 22, 2013, 08:57:53 AM »
HI all, I've been looking through the forum and have an idea of what I'd like to get.  First, I'm new to taping and my goal is to capture live recordings of our acoustic shows at bars and restaurants.  We've been playing at bars for the past 13 years and have recorded with the zoom H2 using the built in mics.  At this point, I would like to increase the quality of the recordings and would spend around $1000.00 for a rig.  I would also like to use the rig down the road for recording live concerts.  I get out to a few shows a year and I think I'd enjoy it.  I've been checking Ebay and was looking at the Marantz PMB661 because it has preamps.  From what I gather, they may not be the greatest.  After reading further, it looks like the Sony M10 is a good choice for a recorder.  As far as mic and preamps go, I'm not so familiar with the configurations/connections used for recording.  I do our sound for each gig...mics, monitors, mains so I have knowledge of that stuff.  I've been looking at the Naiant tinybox and also their mics.  However, I don't know what configuration I'd need as I'm not familiar with the 6 pin adapater, the different types of mic capsules involved.  There are a few drop down menus and it seems like there is a lot going on.  Basically, I need to know exactly what to order so that I don't mess up.  Tiny box configuaration, mics, and cables/adapters.  Lastly, the mics don't have to be Naiant. I don't mind buying used or better quality mics elsewhere.  If you've read my post, thanks very much.  I apreciate any help I can get. 

Offline bryonsos

• Omni addict
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • If it's important, tell me to write it down.
    • LMA uploads