Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie question: Camcorder + CA14 = No result, do i need pre-amp?  (Read 2937 times)

Offline KoenG

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi there tapers,

I've been lurching these forums for some while now and i learned quite a bit about stuff i didn't know nothing about. To be honest it's a world i didn't know existed. As i still find it hard to get my head around some of this technical stuff (never been good at that) i thought you might want to help me out a bit.

But first let me tell you a bit a bout myself and where  i'm coming from:
I've been visiting concerts and shows for about 20 years now and have a very broad taste; Indie, Dance, Harcore/punk, Americana, Metal (doom/stoner/black), HipHop and what not. Often it gets loud though.
The last couple of year i've been bringing a camcorder to almost all gigs i attend and i tend to film one or two songs of every act i see. I've been putting these up on youtube as a running log of shows i've seen. To help me remember when i'm old as i always say. ;-)
Started off with some simple flip-camera but upgraded over time and now use a Panasonic HDC SD90 camcorder. A camera which suits my needs quite well. I don't want to bring to much gear, i want to stay nimble and be to be able to start filming without to much hassle from whichever corner of the venue i'm at.
Recording is definitely not the main reason to visit a show and i always want to make sure i'm not bothering anyone. I never want to be that guy blocking the view for others.

That being said, it is nice to have a reasonable recording. I think the Panasonic has been doing quite well. Here's a recent clip of Neurosis' Scott Kelly i shot: http://youtu.be/bq-IsCpXggM