Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DAV BG1 into Sony PCM-D50  (Read 5962 times)

Offline MrClean

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
DAV BG1 into Sony PCM-D50
« on: March 01, 2013, 03:10:42 AM »
Hey Guys,

Apologies upfront for asking stupid questions - I am a professional musician but an absolute newbie when it comes to gear. I do like good sound, though...

I recently aquired a DAV BG1 preamp, and I'm looking for the best way to convert the analogue out to store digitally. I have a Sony PCM-D50 that I'd like to try to use for data storage, but am unsure of routing the data in analogue format into the Sony via the line-level input, as it still passes through the Sony's volume pot as well as D/A converter. I don't know enough about either on the Sony, though I would think an outboard DAC would do a better job. Am I being too anal? If not, the next step would be to find something that would take the balanced outs on the BG1 and convert it to a format the digital input on the Sony would accept, but I obvously don't need the preamp part that comes with most of the units that do this sort of thing - I want as straight a path as possible. Any suggestions? Also, does anyone know off-hand if the metering still works on the Sony in digital input mode even though you cannot adjust the input level while in digital-input mode? 

Thanks in advance.

JW

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
Re: DAV BG1 into Sony PCM-D50
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 05:16:57 AM »
1) Yes, the metering still works in digital mode. I use mine with a Sound Devices usbpre2 that way.