Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: PCM-M10 vs DR-100mkII  (Read 5974 times)

Offline OldNeumanntapr

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
PCM-M10 vs DR-100mkII
« on: April 06, 2013, 03:44:35 PM »
I'm finally ready to make the switch from DAT. I have narrowed my focus down to either the Sony PCM-M10, or the Tascam DR-100mkII. I have been recording live on DAT since 1995, when I got my D7. Before that I used D5 and D6 cassette portables. I have been a live-music taper since 1986.

Currently I use a D8 for ...(stealth)... and a DA-P1 for open taping. Most of the time that I use the DA-P1 is to record off of the board, via XLR line in. (I like the XLR line in feature of the DR-100mkII specifically for the ability to record off of the board with XLR cables.)

I use Neumann SKM-140 microphones, (with and without active cables, as the case may be), and I use a Beyer MV-100 preamp, for audience recordings.

I guess, if I had my druthers, I'd get an M10 for stealth and a Tascam HD-P2 for open taping. But, that option is too costly.

I like that both the M10 and the DR-100mkII have actual record level knobs. That's a big plus. The digital input of the Tascam would be nice for transferring the rest of my DAT collection.

I need to do something soon, because my 15-year-old ECO Charge lead acid battery for the DA-P1 finally died the other night, 80 minutes into the Heartless Bastards set. (I guess they don't last forever. I'm glad that I got that much life out of it.)

Anyone have any comments?

Offline Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
Re: PCM-M10 vs DR-100mkII
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2013, 07:50:51 PM »
Well, a stealth recorder will work for open taping. A open recorder doesn't work too well for stealth. That being said, I don't think it would be too hard to stealth a DR-100mkII.