Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Missing some of my left channel recording  (Read 1761 times)

Offline orb

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • FXM Photography
Missing some of my left channel recording
« on: June 15, 2013, 11:17:20 PM »
So I am new at this so please bear with me. :-) Recorded a concert and it seems my patch cable was having issues so some of the recording ended up with small portions of the left channel missing.
I have access to Audition CS6 so I am hoping I can fix the problems with a little advice. :-) I am a casual taper and have not run into this issue before.

My setup was CA-14 microphones, CA 9100 Preamp to a Sony PCM-M10

Thank you ahead of time!

Orb

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Missing some of my left channel recording
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2013, 01:42:50 AM »
How frequent are the missing portions?  If there aren't too many of them, I've addressed issues like this in the past by duplicating the good channel into the bad only for the missing portions.  This results in mono playback for those portions, and abrupt changes between stereo and mono, which disrupts the listening experience.  A sufficiently long crossfade between the good channel sections patched into the bad channel makes for a smooth transition from stereo to mono and back, thereby minimizing any disruptions to the listening experience.

Looks something like this...

Before:

[-Bad-Channel----------------------[Missing]----------------------Bad-Channel-]
[-Good-Channel---------------------------------------------------Good-Channel-]

After, without crossfades:

[-Bad-Channel---------------------[Good-Ch]---------------------Bad-Channel-]

After, with crossfades:

[-Bad-Channel-----[Crossfade-In|Good Ch|Crossfade-Out]----Bad-Channel-]