Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sector Boundary Errors  (Read 1854 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bersey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Sector Boundary Errors
« on: September 14, 2014, 04:19:59 PM »
I am a newbie and I am using CD Wave Editor to track a show and I still seem to be getting some sector boundary errors and I can't figure it out.  Show was recorded using the Sony PCM-M10 as 24 bit, 48 khz. I used Sound Forge Audio Studio 9.0 to add fade in/out, normalize, resample to 44.1 khz, and dither to 16 bit.  I did change the frames per second in Sound Forge to 75.  I also ran through everything in Audacity and end up with the same result.

 ???

Offline kubacheck

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
    • My Flickr site
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2014, 04:58:21 PM »
a free program like Traders Little Helper can fix SBE's..... I'm sure there are others that do it as well, but that's what I use.....

http://tlh.easytree.org/

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2014, 05:11:11 PM »
You'll never get SBE's with CD Wave.  Use it as the last step.

Offline bersey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2014, 05:31:27 PM »
I did use it as the last step except for encoding to FLAC.  I used TLH to check for SBEs and it said only the last track had and SBE (which is normal at the end, right?).  So what else could it be if not and SBE?  Something related to resample or dither?

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6664
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2014, 05:39:02 PM »
You'll never get SBE's with CD Wave.  Use it as the last step.

Well, I used to do this, but it really created a lot of extra work when doing both 24 bit and 16 bit.  Now, when I encode the 16 bit WAV files to FLAC (after I've resampled and dithered the individual tracks), I just select fix SBE's in TLH.

I did use it as the last step except for encoding to FLAC.  I used TLH to check for SBEs and it said only the last track had and SBE (which is normal at the end, right?).  So what else could it be if not and SBE?  Something related to resample or dither?

You are only worried about the last track showing an SBE?  I'd say don't worry, but if you don't want any to show up, just use a small track split at the end and unselect that last track when you save the individual WAV files in CD Wave.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline bersey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2014, 05:46:58 PM »
TLH says there is only one SBE on the last track, but I am hearing what sounds like SBEs at some of the track splits.

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6664
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2014, 05:52:37 PM »
What player are you using? Is anything uploaded so we can take a look?
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline bersey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2014, 06:11:36 PM »
I was just using Windows Media Player to listen but I don't think the player is messing with my ears because other live music on my computer plays seamlessly.

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6664
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2014, 06:47:58 PM »
I wouldn't trust Windows Media Player for anything.  Try foobar2000 to see if you hear the same thing.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline bersey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2014, 07:26:10 PM »
Sounds fine in Foobar.  Must have been Windows Media Player.  Thanks for the help.

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6627
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2014, 08:07:00 PM »
I use audacity and never have had a sbe so you stated you have that, I would use it
Control b adds a label/"track"
Export multi
Works like a charm
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2014, 11:09:13 PM »

Well, I used to do this, but it really created a lot of extra work when doing both 24 bit and 16 bit. 

Save a cue sheet



Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6664
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2014, 06:24:13 AM »
Yes, Dennis, I am aware. Believe me, it is easier the way I do it now without CD Wave as the last step on the 16 bit version. 
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Sector Boundary Errors
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2014, 07:09:57 PM »
If you say so  ;D

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.251 seconds with 41 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF