Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?  (Read 2508 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« on: December 31, 2014, 09:32:13 AM »
not sure which is best when getting a sbd feed,  sbd xlr to mic in xlr on P2, or better to use an adapter (xlr > rca) line in.
Any opinion?
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2014, 09:34:39 AM »
I was thinking xlr in, with phantom power off P2? maybe using limiter if needed?
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 09:36:05 AM »
not sure which is best when getting a sbd feed,  sbd xlr to mic in xlr on P2, or better to use an adapter (xlr > rca) line in.
Any opinion?

Depends on the where its coming from...feed from 1/4 balanced or XLR - use XLR...

From RCA - use RCA
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2014, 09:57:53 AM »
sbd gives xlr outs, so stick with xlr (mic in) on deck without phantom power?
or use xlr to rca (line in)?
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2014, 10:26:44 AM »
not sure which is best when getting a sbd feed,  sbd xlr to mic in xlr on P2, or better to use an adapter (xlr > rca) line in.
Any opinion?

Depends on the where its coming from...feed from 1/4 balanced or XLR - use XLR...

From RCA - use RCA

after rereading this comment. xlr in, use the mic in on pad? and is it best to turn phantom off?
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline Cobiwan

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2014, 10:55:07 AM »
There is no need for phantom power when getting a SBD feed. You are not powering mics. You could also possibly do some damage to the SBD be supplying phantom power to it. The pad doesn't need to be on either imo.
"Without music, life would be a mistake."
Friedrich Nietzsche

Mics: Church Audio CA-14 omnis/UBB, Sonic Studios DSM-6S
Pre-Amps: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam HD-P2, Tascam DR-680
Cables: Schoeps KC (Darktrain mod), Gakables XLR, S/PDIF, battery and umbrella, DigiGal AES > S/PDIF, Darktrain hot swap battery

Member of DiGiHoArDeRs

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2014, 11:00:21 AM »
not sure which is best when getting a sbd feed,  sbd xlr to mic in xlr on P2, or better to use an adapter (xlr > rca) line in.
Any opinion?

Depends on the where its coming from...feed from 1/4 balanced or XLR - use XLR...

From RCA - use RCA

after rereading this comment. xlr in, use the mic in on pad? and is it best to turn phantom off?

Phantom off for sure.

As for the XLR - does the recorder have setting for Line Input? It's labeled as such. Im sure there is a more expert person on this device.

Even with a pad - Pro Line level (on the balanced outs) is probably too much for for a mic input.
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline Cobiwan

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2014, 11:06:22 AM »
Line in switch on top of the deck refers to the RCA input, whereas mic in refers to the XLR input. To achieve true line in level on the P2 I believe the pad has to be on and the level on the gain knob has to be set at zero, thus bypassing the preamps. Doing this however will leave you unable to control levels on the deck and only be able to adjust levels on the SBD output. I would just run xlr to xlr with pad off and monitor and set your levels on the P2 accordingly.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 11:13:26 AM by cobiwan »
"Without music, life would be a mistake."
Friedrich Nietzsche

Mics: Church Audio CA-14 omnis/UBB, Sonic Studios DSM-6S
Pre-Amps: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam HD-P2, Tascam DR-680
Cables: Schoeps KC (Darktrain mod), Gakables XLR, S/PDIF, battery and umbrella, DigiGal AES > S/PDIF, Darktrain hot swap battery

Member of DiGiHoArDeRs

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2014, 11:11:40 AM »
seems to me something on the P2 was dodgy with xlr in, maybe I am dreaming that up? Or maybe what you're saying about levels set to zero fix that issue?
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2014, 11:17:34 AM »
an employee (sbd) not working show said that the sound guy could send me xlr, and he'd have to push up fade til I got levels. That sounds like what you're saying, my levels to zero, and he'd adjust the feed levels??
so I would use xlr into deck. the deck does have line or mic in option.
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline Cobiwan

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2014, 11:18:31 AM »
It shouldnt be an issue running xlr. Set P2 for mic in, pad off, low cut off, phantom off. Run xlr from SBD to XLR input on P2, set gain levels where you would like them (around -12 to -06 db) and monitor levels to keep some headroom to avoid clipping.
"Without music, life would be a mistake."
Friedrich Nietzsche

Mics: Church Audio CA-14 omnis/UBB, Sonic Studios DSM-6S
Pre-Amps: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam HD-P2, Tascam DR-680
Cables: Schoeps KC (Darktrain mod), Gakables XLR, S/PDIF, battery and umbrella, DigiGal AES > S/PDIF, Darktrain hot swap battery

Member of DiGiHoArDeRs

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2014, 11:20:36 AM »
thanks. It will end up a matrix, via 2nd P2 and my mics, so I plan on running sbd low levels.
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline Cobiwan

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2014, 11:22:30 AM »
Doing it pad on, gain zero leaves you asking sound guy to turn it up or down as needed. The other way leaves you in control of levels and not bothering him to make changes if needed.
"Without music, life would be a mistake."
Friedrich Nietzsche

Mics: Church Audio CA-14 omnis/UBB, Sonic Studios DSM-6S
Pre-Amps: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam HD-P2, Tascam DR-680
Cables: Schoeps KC (Darktrain mod), Gakables XLR, S/PDIF, battery and umbrella, DigiGal AES > S/PDIF, Darktrain hot swap battery

Member of DiGiHoArDeRs

Offline georgeh

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #13 on: December 31, 2014, 11:40:00 AM »
"pad on" is confusing me a bit, easy to do. option on P2 is mic or line in, you're saying if I use line in, but xlr's, I adjust levels? otherwise mic in, sbd has too
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline Cobiwan

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 945
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam hd P2 sbd feed xlr or rca in?
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2014, 12:07:37 PM »
If you turn both the left and right 0-20db pads on top of deck on, running XLR (mic in) with gain knob at zero you will get a straight "line in level." We are talking about a level of gain, not the mic in/line in switch.  Gain won't be controllable by your deck only by output of SBD. This bypasses the preamps on the deck, which might be prefered over amplifying the SBD signal.
I choose not to run this way as I have to bug the soundguy throughout the show if levels need to be adjusted.
I run XLR from SBD to XLR on P2, mic in, phantom off, pad off, limiter off etc. gain is controlled by knob on deck.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 12:16:43 PM by cobiwan »
"Without music, life would be a mistake."
Friedrich Nietzsche

Mics: Church Audio CA-14 omnis/UBB, Sonic Studios DSM-6S
Pre-Amps: Lunatec V3
Recorders: Tascam HD-P2, Tascam DR-680
Cables: Schoeps KC (Darktrain mod), Gakables XLR, S/PDIF, battery and umbrella, DigiGal AES > S/PDIF, Darktrain hot swap battery

Member of DiGiHoArDeRs

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.145 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF