Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop  (Read 1105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« on: March 06, 2018, 06:59:16 AM »
Hi,

I have some old concerts that I recorded in the 90s that I would like to transfer to my laptop and do some tidying up in Audacity.

What is the best way to go about this?

Cheers

Wayne
Sony MZ-RH10 Himd recorder with SP-CMC-8 (AT943) mics and SP-SPSB-7 battery module

Offline twatts (that "Pants" thing is so lame...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2018, 08:12:15 AM »
Hi,

I have some old concerts that I recorded in the 90s that I would like to transfer to my laptop and do some tidying up in Audacity.

What is the best way to go about this?

Cheers

Wayne

I proposed a "trade"...  I have some MDs that need transferring, and I can do your cassettes...

But your best bet is to get a nice cassette deck and play them into your MD.  Then do whatever you usually do with your MD tapes...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline rocksuitcase

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4934
  • Gender: Male
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2018, 12:14:13 PM »
I've been using this workflow:
Cassette deck RCA out> Tascam DR680 1/4inch line in (so connecting cable is RCA to 1/4 inch)>SD card>PC. I've also used an outboard ADC into a MAC computer (deck RCA>ADC  (Echo Gina) > PC using wavelab to record.

My opinion is to go straight into a bit bucket of your choice (especially if it is SD card unit) then put file(s) on PC use Audacity to do post processing.

Just since I mentioned it (image of a Gina24/96): https://www.ebay.com/i/122992951117?rt=nc
music IS love

When you get confused, listen to the music play!

Mics:         AKG460|CK61|CK1|CK3|CK8|Beyer M 201E
Recorders:Marantz PMD661 OADE Concert mod; Tascam DR680 MKI

Offline Brian E.

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • Gender: Male
  • is chicago.... is not chicago....
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 05:06:33 PM »
Cassette recorder out > R-09HR in > SD card.  Use the WAV file.
my tapes:  The Archive | Dime | Etree

Cans - Shure SE535
Mics - CA-14 (Card/Omni)
Canon EOS 5D Mark II | 17-40L f4 | 50 f1.4 | 70-200L f2.8 IS II | 430EX II

Offline motr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2018, 02:29:39 AM »
Cheers for the information guys. Much appreciated.
Sony MZ-RH10 Himd recorder with SP-CMC-8 (AT943) mics and SP-SPSB-7 battery module

Offline splumer

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1087
  • Gender: Male
  • Go ahead, try this at home
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2018, 08:53:53 AM »
Another option is a USB audio interface.
"God love you, Dr. Dre, you’ve made some amazing music and some forward steps in the digital era, but that sound is fake. "
 - Dave Schools

Offline Brian E.

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • Gender: Male
  • is chicago.... is not chicago....
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2018, 10:07:01 AM »
Another option is a USB audio interface.

USB out from a tape recorder?
my tapes:  The Archive | Dime | Etree

Cans - Shure SE535
Mics - CA-14 (Card/Omni)
Canon EOS 5D Mark II | 17-40L f4 | 50 f1.4 | 70-200L f2.8 IS II | 430EX II

Offline rocksuitcase

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4934
  • Gender: Male
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2018, 10:48:30 AM »
Another option is a USB audio interface.

USB out from a tape recorder?
Like this example: https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Studio26--presonus-studio-26-usb-2x4-usb-audio-interface-with-2-xmax-l-preamps
The Echo Gina I cited above was a similar device for old skool Macs using a 25 Pin Interface cable. (or Firewire)
You would go: Cassette RCA to 1/4" In on the USB device, then USB out to a PC/Mac. OR you could go into a bit bucket from ther,. The purpose of either the bitbucket or USB audio device is to take the analog signal and convert it to digital.
music IS love

When you get confused, listen to the music play!

Mics:         AKG460|CK61|CK1|CK3|CK8|Beyer M 201E
Recorders:Marantz PMD661 OADE Concert mod; Tascam DR680 MKI

Offline Brian E.

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • Gender: Male
  • is chicago.... is not chicago....
Re: Audio Tape Transfer To Laptop
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2018, 01:38:19 PM »
I guess.  Seems like the same thing we just said.  R-09HR has a USB out too.
my tapes:  The Archive | Dime | Etree

Cans - Shure SE535
Mics - CA-14 (Card/Omni)
Canon EOS 5D Mark II | 17-40L f4 | 50 f1.4 | 70-200L f2.8 IS II | 430EX II

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.201 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF