Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)  (Read 38036 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4670
  • high desert for life
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #360 on: September 14, 2020, 04:36:40 PM »
got a response from my zoom support guy, had some notes on USB mode only being 16-bit integer, and also said

Quote from: zoomtech
Overall, the engineers thought the findings were inconsistent, meaning it seemed like there were some additional variables in the testing conditions.

We would suggest for future tests that you use a recorded file or analog audio output with consistent sound to ensure the best results.

Do you have any additional information on the testing conditions, or any specific questions about your findings?

so i sent him all the test results above, including copying the THD plat from the review in the german magazine

we'll see what they come back with
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, noahbickart, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline Organfreak

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #361 on: September 15, 2020, 04:04:26 AM »
@ Voltronic: I have listened to your recordings done with the line audio CM3. Did you also record these using the Zoom F6? It sounded really nice, what struck me most was the good stereo picture of the Concert Band recordings. I made a few recordings of our local Fanfare with omni mics hanging from the truss (~40 cm apart) but the stereo picture was not as good. Also your organ recording was OK, I did not miss the low end.
Line audio mics are surprisingly cheap. There is also an Omni mic from Line audio (the OM1). Can this mic be compared with the DPA 4090?

@ Jerryfreak: Attached are page 2, 3 and 4 of the German magazine test. First page was too large, but is just a picture of the device with conclusion. On page 4 it is confirmed that the F6 cannot handle +24 dBu.

Question: How to quote a section of a previous post in a reply post?.
Mics: Rode NT55, DPA 4090, Beyerdynamic M101
Pres: Lake People C360, M-Audio DMP3
Recorders: Marantz PMD661 OADE super mod & plus mod, Denon DN-F450R, Zoom F6

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4670
  • high desert for life
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #362 on: September 15, 2020, 04:38:52 AM »
click ‘quote’ in the upper right of the post you wish to quote, then trim out anything you don’t want
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, noahbickart, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3155
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #363 on: September 15, 2020, 06:28:20 AM »
@ Voltronic: I have listened to your recordings done with the line audio CM3. Did you also record these using the Zoom F6? It sounded really nice, what struck me most was the good stereo picture of the Concert Band recordings. I made a few recordings of our local Fanfare with omni mics hanging from the truss (~40 cm apart) but the stereo picture was not as good. Also your organ recording was OK, I did not miss the low end.
Line audio mics are surprisingly cheap. There is also an Omni mic from Line audio (the OM1). Can this mic be compared with the DPA 4090?

The organ recording used the F6.  The Concert Band tracks are older and used a Tascam DR-70D. 

If you are interested in the Line Audio mics, click the Team Line Audio link in my signature for a thread on them.  Yes, they are very inexpensive and punch far above their price point.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853  //  Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24  //  Zoom F6 | Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 // KRK Rokit RP5 // Sennheiser HD 650

Team Line Audio

Offline fotoralf.be

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 137
  • Gender: Male
    • fotoralf.be
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #364 on: September 16, 2020, 07:56:44 AM »
I'm trying to find out if TwistedWave can handle the 32 bit files from the F6. Could someone kindly send me a short 32 bit audio file, please?

Thanks in advance.

Ralf
Photography and industrial audioscapes from Western Europe. - Sound examples: http://aporee.org/maps/projects/fotoralf - Blog (German): http://the-real-fotoralf.blogspot.com

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3155
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #365 on: September 16, 2020, 12:29:26 PM »
I'm trying to find out if TwistedWave can handle the 32 bit files from the F6. Could someone kindly send me a short 32 bit audio file, please?

Thanks in advance.

Ralf

Sound Devices has some sample files here:
https://www.sounddevices.com/sample-32-bit-float-and-24-bit-fixed-wav-files/
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853  //  Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24  //  Zoom F6 | Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 // KRK Rokit RP5 // Sennheiser HD 650

Team Line Audio

Offline fotoralf.be

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 137
  • Gender: Male
    • fotoralf.be
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #366 on: September 16, 2020, 02:02:18 PM »
Quite amazing, thanks. And yes, TwistedWave works fine with the 32 bit data.

Ralf
Photography and industrial audioscapes from Western Europe. - Sound examples: http://aporee.org/maps/projects/fotoralf - Blog (German): http://the-real-fotoralf.blogspot.com

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #367 on: Yesterday at 12:27:23 PM »
Okay, any audacity users in here?

How are you exporting 32 bit recorded files to 24bit in Audacity?  i need to figure out this new workflow...

my files i exported are still 32bit/48.
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline darby

  • Trade Count: (97)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1289
  • Support artists and venues that allow recording
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #368 on: Yesterday at 02:19:54 PM »
Okay, any audacity users in here?

How are you exporting 32 bit recorded files to 24bit in Audacity?  i need to figure out this new workflow...

my files i exported are still 32bit/48.

export as WAV
when you select WAV, there is a drop down that asks how you want your file type
mines defaults to 16-bit signed PCM, but 24-bit and 32-bit are also available 

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #369 on: Yesterday at 03:00:36 PM »
Okay, any audacity users in here?

How are you exporting 32 bit recorded files to 24bit in Audacity?  i need to figure out this new workflow...

my files i exported are still 32bit/48.

export as WAV
when you select WAV, there is a drop down that asks how you want your file type
mines defaults to 16-bit signed PCM, but 24-bit and 32-bit are also available

Okay.  So "export as WAV".  Then "signed 24 bit" is what i need? 

is there no special dither or anything you need to apply?
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.049 seconds with 51 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF