Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)  (Read 48395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6124
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #375 on: October 03, 2020, 11:47:02 AM »
yes i already did that, with both units.
“Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.”– Thomas Sowell

Offline goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3559
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #376 on: November 06, 2020, 02:53:20 PM »
I bought one of these today at a steep discount on Reverb.  Excited to get my hands on it and give it a workout...not that there's any shows coming up soon for me.
MBHO KA300 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6124
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #377 on: November 06, 2020, 03:37:32 PM »
wow, $380 is a smokin deal

dont believe the "you cannot clip it" hype tho ;)
“Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.”– Thomas Sowell

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3306
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #378 on: November 06, 2020, 09:15:01 PM »
wow, $380 is a smokin deal

dont believe the "you cannot clip it" hype tho ;)

It's not that you can't clip it, but you probably won't, unless you're using very sensitive mics and/or recording really hot levels.

Amazing deal, for sure.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3559
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #379 on: November 18, 2020, 09:22:51 AM »

Been fooling around with the F6 at home and I like it so far.

Navigating the menus is a little clumsy but the more you do something the easier it gets.

The preamps sound pretty good at least in a home test recording things around the house and some guitar and mandolin.

Maybe one day shows will return and I can get out and use it for real but it's getting worse where I live not better.
MBHO KA300 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6124
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #380 on: November 18, 2020, 09:55:48 AM »

Maybe one day shows will return and I can get out and use it for real but it's getting worse where I live not better.

we just gotta get thru winter. there will be 100+ million vaccines deployed before summer even gets here

yeah the menus are a bit counter intuitive. whats advantageous is if youre not using all 6 channels all the time you can keep 2 setup for line-in,  etc.

to me the 'enter' and the 'back' buttons seem like they are always in the wrong place. also i pity anyone with fat fingers, not a lot of room
“Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.”– Thomas Sowell

Offline goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3559
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #381 on: December 06, 2020, 09:10:03 AM »

Anyone use this in interface mode? I can't get any of my DAWs to recognize it as an input device.
MBHO KA300 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6124
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #382 on: December 06, 2020, 12:28:46 PM »

Anyone use this in interface mode? I can't get any of my DAWs to recognize it as an input device.

have you selected the proper mode in the menu? (pg 141)

https://zoomcorp.com/media/documents/E_F6_04.pdf
“Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.”– Thomas Sowell

Offline goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3559
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #383 on: December 07, 2020, 07:51:32 PM »
Anyone use this in interface mode? I can't get any of my DAWs to recognize it as an input device.
have you selected the proper mode in the menu? (pg 141)
https://zoomcorp.com/media/documents/E_F6_04.pdf

I tried both modes in the menu and several programs (Wavelab, Reaper and CD Wave Editor) and it didn't show up as a device in any of them. I don't "podcast" per se but I would like to be able to use interface with loopback mode to add some dialog to my Mixlr stream when I do my Straight from Tape broadcasts when I'm doing transfers of old or rare stuff.

MBHO KA300 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6124
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #384 on: December 08, 2020, 04:33:53 AM »
hmm that’s strange. work for me on win 7.

you sure that usb cable is good? do you have any other usb-c data devices?
“Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.”– Thomas Sowell

Offline fguidry

  • (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 146
  • Gender: Male
    • Kaleponi - Slack Key in California
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #385 on: December 09, 2020, 11:42:11 AM »

Anyone use this in interface mode? I can't get any of my DAWs to recognize it as an input device.

Working here, Win 10 and REAPER. Downloaded and installed latest Zoom drivers??

https://zoomcorp.com/en/us/field-recorders/field-recorders/f6/f6-support/

Fran

Offline goodcooker

  • (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3559
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #386 on: December 12, 2020, 09:54:22 AM »
Anyone use this in interface mode? I can't get any of my DAWs to recognize it as an input device.
Working here, Win 10 and REAPER. Downloaded and installed latest Zoom drivers??
https://zoomcorp.com/en/us/field-recorders/field-recorders/f6/f6-support/
Fran

I did a fresh install of all the drivers and updated the firmware to the latest version. I can see the device in Reaper and Wavelab but I'm still getting errors. I'll come back to it later and see if I can figure it out. I don't have a lot of time to do my Mixlr broadcasts right now anyway work is kicking my ass.
MBHO KA300 || Joly Mod Oktava MK012 || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 || Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d || Zoom F6
Transfers - Tascam DA30 or Fostex D5 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 40 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF