Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?  (Read 781 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fotoralf.be

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • fotoralf.be
Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« on: September 24, 2020, 04:15:58 PM »
I've salvaged a pair of Primo EM182 from an old Tascam IM2X and put them into Micbooster's Clippy enclosures. The trouble with the EM182 is that they need 3 wires: ground, AF and power. Are there any ready-made battery boxes on the market for this kind of capsule?

Ralf
Photography and industrial audioscapes from Western Europe. - Sound examples: http://aporee.org/maps/projects/fotoralf - Blog (German): http://the-real-fotoralf.blogspot.com

Offline jerryfreak

  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4925
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2020, 04:57:26 PM »
i beleive sound professionals makes a 3-wire batt box for AT853, etc
People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, noahbickart, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 760
Re: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2020, 07:36:44 PM »
looks like these need 3-10v so make sure to get a 9v power supply. I think SP only sells a 12v now.

Church Audio sells a 9v but it will likely take a while to get.

https://micbooster.com/primo-microphone-capsules/177-primo-em182-electret-condenser-microphone.html
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2020, 03:07:13 PM »
You can also try to run EM182  in a two wire configuration - power and ground. I'm not an electrician. I used to read about the benefits of different connections, but I don't remember it. Maybe 2 wire connection will have a very slightly worse SN ratio. I think 2 wires should be ok.

Edit: You should also add a resistor between source and ground in both cases 3 wires or 2 wires. The size of the resistor is calculated in some way. In a data sheet, they have 5.6 kOhm as an example. I think a resistor value affects a sensitivity of the microphone and also max. SPL.
https://www.micbooster.com/documents/EM182.pdf
« Last Edit: September 28, 2020, 08:36:29 AM by kuba e »

Offline fotoralf.be

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • fotoralf.be
Re: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2020, 02:48:56 PM »
You can also try to run EM182  in a two wire configuration - power and ground.

Has anyone of the good people on here ever tried this and is there a price for this kind of trickery?

Ralf
Photography and industrial audioscapes from Western Europe. - Sound examples: http://aporee.org/maps/projects/fotoralf - Blog (German): http://the-real-fotoralf.blogspot.com

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Battery box for 3-wire electrets?
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2020, 02:23:21 AM »
I wouldn't be afraid of that. The sound difference should be negligible (In the two-wire connections, there is an additional noise caused by the resistor between source and ground which is in series with an audio signal. In the three-wire connection, this resistor does not contribute to the noise because audio signal is shorted by FET). The main advantage of this capsule with three wires is the possibility of choosing own size of resistor between source and ground. The size of the resistor affects the sensitivity and max. SPL of the capsule.

I have Em172 capsule for recording lectures, it is very similar to yours. This capsule is two wire - power, ground. But it is no longer possible to change resistor between source and ground. The size of the resistor - capsule sensitivity is set by the manufacturer.

Be careful when soldering not to burn the FET in the capsule. At that time, I bought a capsule with already soldered wires, so I avoided this danger.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2020, 05:49:03 AM by kuba e »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF