Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic stand suggestions?  (Read 1942 times)

Offline evilchris

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Audio, ergo sum.
    • dimwell.net
Mic stand suggestions?
« on: July 04, 2004, 07:27:05 AM »
Hi guys,

I've been stealthing shows for a few years (15 or 16 shows in all) and I may have an opportunity in the near future to catch a couple of Spin Doctors shows and, if memory serves me correctly, the Spin Doctors are pretty friendly towards tapers.

My question, then, is this:  what sort of mic stands are good for a modest stealth rig?  I've got a pair of stealth mics from Sound Professionals with interchangable Shure MX183/185 mic capsules, so a rig that's flexible enough to accomodate both capsules would be ideal.

I'd prefer *not* to have a t-bar, but I'm completely open to suggestions.  I'd like to be able to get 8-12 feet up, but I'd also like something that's nice and small when you fold it up.

For those unfamiliar with the microphones, I've attached a picture of my rig.  It's nothing special, but I've been really happy with it.  :)

Thanks.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2004, 07:30:07 AM by evilchris »
nothing > nada > R-09

Offline sexymexi

• Taperssection All-Star
    • show list
Re: Mic stand suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2004, 04:03:54 PM »
stealth rig mic stand?  didn't know there was such a thing.  I thought it was challenge enough to smuggle your gear in, let alone a stand.  But i would think you would want something really small.  I'd look into making something, my first mic stand was a telescopic golf ball retreiver that i took a mic adapter and put on the top for a t-bar, i got a 9 ft one, and closed its less than 3 ft long, wouldn't be extremely hard to stealth it in your pant leg.  its silver though, you would want something black i would think.  Go look around, see if you can find something that you can make into a stand. good luck. peace

matt