Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Forgive me for I am a noob and could use some advice from the experts  (Read 5299 times)

Offline cosmicchuck

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
So I have decided that I would like to tape the countless shows I see.  This is mostly in part because I am sick and tired of not being able to relisten to a good amount of them because no one taped it.  I have searched around on this site and I still am lost as to what I should get for my first rig.  I would like to use a portable HD such as a jb3.  I also think the akg1000's sound like the right mics for my first.  So I guess my question is what preamps work well for this combination?  Could some one possibly give me a few examples of good starter rig?  What other things am I missing?  I know I will need a stand and cables as well(any info.  I will be taping in all types of rooms and probably from dif. locations(i.e. front orch, back orch, even balconies and maybe even onstage situations at the local pony).  I will also need to make sure that I can patch into a board as my buddies band plays quite often.  Keep in mind I am looking to keep this under a grand for now, but will find myself upgrading as I get more shows under my belt. 

thanks again for any input guys.  I am open to all suggestions and would love as much input as possible.  Sorry to waste any of your guys time, but if I am gonna be spending alot of money on this, then I wanna make sure that I am getting what I need.  I dont have the $$$ to try dif. things out.  I would like to see what has worked great for others and then expand upon it in my own way.  Thanks again for your time guys.

also: I do not fore see any reason for me to stealth.  I know people at most of the venues I go to.  And most of the bands I go see have a pretty open taping policy.  Thanks again
« Last Edit: March 10, 2005, 09:33:29 AM by cosmicchuck »

Offline John R

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...