Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: info on starting computer recording/ what setup?  (Read 1564 times)

Offline rvpigeon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
info on starting computer recording/ what setup?
« on: May 01, 2005, 04:26:48 AM »
I really want to get into recording (both music and ambience), and i'm going to be getting myself an apple (no question about this) powerbook this summer. Right now the audio equipment i have is a Shure beta 58a mic, sony mdr-7506 headphones, and logic express. I am wondering what I will need to get (as far as sound cards, cables, programs or other equipment goes) in order to set up a decent and versatile portable recording studio, and especially how I can make the best use of what I have, since I have very little experience with recording. i had looked into buying a portable recorder of some kind, but since i'm getting a laptop anyway this seems like the way to go.

budget-wise, i'm 17, so obviously not huge. i have $2000 as a graduation present, which i'm going to put towards the laptop (i might add more as well).

Any advice is much appreciated, thanks!  :)

(i searched around in the forums but didn't find anything helpful. if i missed something, just show me the link)
« Last Edit: May 01, 2005, 04:28:36 AM by rvpigeon »

Offline spott

• Taperssection All-Star
Re: info on starting computer recording/ what setup?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2005, 04:54:37 PM »
Here's a good place to start digging for some info, hope it helps

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/laptop-tapers/

Offline rvpigeon

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2005, 02:11:30 AM »
i looked at that a bit, but i was hoping someone could give me some advice specific to my situation, because i really don't know where to start. theres so much equipment out there that i'm a bit overwhelmed by reading all of those posts. thanks anyway though, ill keep looking there

Offline Evil Taper

• Needs to get out more...