Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Total newb needs help with setup  (Read 2629 times)

Offline T-90

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • ya aint gotta do what ya aint gotta do
Total newb needs help with setup
« on: May 05, 2005, 07:36:33 PM »
hey kids....went to wanee a few weeks ago and caught the taping fever.....I have the following equipment already... Mics are MXL990/991....can I get away with these?  I have a hp 4325 laptop and a tascam pocketstudio 5 digi 4 track with flash card storage......both run on batteries.....which of these should I go with for the recorder?  Also, if I go with the lappy, what interface do you guys reccomend?

Thanks in advance :)
« Last Edit: May 05, 2005, 08:08:48 PM by T-90 »
"I dont sing...I dont dance...and I dont like to be around anyone who does" D.Letterman
DPA 4023, AT4051a, AT4053a
Countryman B3, AT853(4.7k,c,sc,h)
V3, FP24, Bm2p+ UA5, ST9100
OCM Edirol R-44, Sony PCM-M10

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
Re: Total newb needs help with setup
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2005, 11:44:30 PM »
Mics are MXL990/991....can I get away with these?

If you like 'em, then sure, you can get away with 'em.  I'd say try those mics first since you own already, and if you don't like the results then consider trading for or buying new mics.

I have a hp 4325 laptop and a tascam pocketstudio 5 digi 4 track with flash card storage......both run on batteries.....which of these should I go with for the recorder?  Also, if I go with the lappy, what interface do you guys reccomend?

Sorry, I'm no help on the rest - never stayed on top of laptop recording interfaces and such.  Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will chime in.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) > Roland R-05

Offline bagtagsell

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Man is condemned to be free- Sartre
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2005, 01:08:19 AM »
laptop issues to consider