Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What's the difference between SP-CMC-4 and SP-CMC-8 and at831s?  (Read 4095 times)

Offline RedRocketSr

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I'd rather be lucky than good.
What's the difference between SP-CMC-4 and SP-CMC-8 and at831s?
« on: February 10, 2006, 02:23:56 AM »
Thanks.. i'm just getting into taping. I found and bought a JB3 with 2 batteries and a bunch of other extras for $140 and now I need some decent mics. I was told 831s were very good for the kind of taping (mostly acoustic) that I want to do.

Appreciate the help.

Brett
SP-CMC2 --> SP-SPSB1 --> JB3

Offline Humbug

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Humbug Hum Rejection Unit
    • Trading site
Re: What's the difference between SP-CMC-4 and SP-CMC-8 and at831s?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 07:32:09 AM »
I was told 831s were very good for the kind of taping (mostly acoustic) that I want to do.

Appreciate the help.

Brett

-Amplified or unamplified? (if its unamplified you need to be looking at other mics, otherwise AT831s work acceptably well for acoustic).

You might want to look at omni mics unless the audience are very noisy at these events.

Dont forget a battery box.

Budget?

UK based taper: MK4>Nbox Platinum>PCM-M10
AT853C>CA9200 / PIPsqueak>Tascam DR-2D

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Humbug66

Offline RedRocketSr

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 12:48:08 PM »
ah, i'm not sure about the amplified or not. I hadn't heard that element before. And a knew I had to get a battery box. I plan on spending about $150-$200 (I hope).

So how do I decide if I want amplified or not?

Offline Shawn

• is old and tired
  • Trade Count: (11)
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2006, 01:18:33 PM »
I think he was asking if the music was amplified or not.

Offline TheWildKindness

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
    • Archivist Records