Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Updating my rig (formerly 'Unscramble')  (Read 1497 times)

Offline dolzani

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Updating my rig (formerly 'Unscramble')
« on: February 12, 2006, 10:10:42 PM »
Sorry for the strange subject. I didn't know what else to call this.

I just found this site from the Terrapin boards. What a great resource. Thanks! I've been reading and reading.

I'm thinking about updating my recording rig. I'm an artist who likes to tape his own shows. Don't need too fancy or too bulky. But of course sound quality is important.

In the past I've used my Tascam DA-P1 with a pair of dynamic mics on a stand. It's been excellent. Fine for my purposes. But it's a bit bulky and the real-time transfer is so 20th century. Then I got a Sony MD, R700 I've been using with a tiny stereo 1/8" mic. That's been fine too but I've been using the compression to squeeze more out of the tapes. I could use it at no compression but then I have to switch tapes, for longer gigs. So far I haven't used any front end.

Currently I have a laptop with Garageband and set that on a table last week to record a listening-room solo gig using just the laptop mic. It actually came out ok. Again, I'm really only looking for a good representation of the night and a recording to pass along to friends/fans and don't want to get too technical. My focus is on playing the show...but my shows are getting better and I'd like to put them on the archive. (.org).

So I'm at a crossroads as to what to do:

a) Bring the laptop to gigs and get a front end (fine for some gigs, not so fine for others: rowdy bar, etc)
b) Use the MD and get a front end.
c) Use the dat and deal with real time transfer
d) Get a used JB3 and get a front end

Something like the MT 24/96 seems cool but I don't want to spend $400.