Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audigy 2 zs bit perfect or not? (creative labs quote inside)  (Read 3001 times)

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
Hey yall,
I already bought one of these from Ebay and and really confused if it is bit perfect or not.  Most people on this board say NOT bit perfect.  Then I found this quote from creative's site
"Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS is also capable of recording audio at 24bit/96kHz, thanks to high performance A-D converters and bit-perfect signal path."

I will be running this behind a UA-5 and all i really want to do is drop bits from my ua-5 via optical to my computer's HD in 24/96.  So...as long as I'm not going analog in I should not have resampling issues..no?

Any opinions?  Has anyone else ran a laptop behind a ua-5 optical out?  How were the results?

Thanks.

KLowe
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline china_rider

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • The center of the universe is not on this earth...
    • AZTapers
Re: Audigy 2 zs bit perfect or not? (creative labs quote inside)
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 12:00:20 AM »
I have not done a comparison myself but have been told that it is *not* bit perfect and that it also resamples incoming digital signals.
(#1) AKG C480b CK61,CK62,CK63,CK69 -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#2) BMod ADK A51TL -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#3) Sonic Studios DSM6SM -> Sonic Studios PA-3SX -> R-09

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2006, 01:11:23 PM »
I used to use this card but I found that it was noisy! Very noisy in fact. I switched to a M-AUDIO audiophile 192 card and all my problems were solved with noise. I would even get an M-audio 98K card if you can not afford the 192k IMO

Hey yall,