Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: transferring no-no?  (Read 1910 times)

Offline muddguts

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • Just Passin' Thru
transferring no-no?
« on: July 18, 2006, 02:44:46 PM »
I'm fairly new to the taping and transferring game and have a question.

When transfering a DAT to the hard drive, will using the computer in the meantime damage or hinder the transfer?
Do you like George Thorogood & The Destroyers? My little tribute them:
http://thorogoodconcerts.com

Offline Gordon

• Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • my list
Re: transferring no-no?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 02:56:49 PM »
do not do ANYTHING while transferring.   I even get offline, turn off screensaver, shut down un needed running programs etc.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II @ 32/48

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

https://archive.org/details/teamdirtysouth

Offline greenone

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Russian mics... strong like bull...
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 05:20:36 PM »
It really depends how much memory you have and whether you're using multiple hard drives. I have a dedicated drive that's used only for transfers, tracking and conversion. It's not unusual for me to be listening to one show while transferring another, surfing the web, etc., but your mileage may vary. If you're low on memory and only have one hard drive, I'd follow Gordon's advice - and most of the time I set up a transfer to run right before I go to bed anyway - but you may want to do a test run on your own to see if it works.

Of course, I also listen to each show all the way through with headphones before I seed, just to make sure I catch any flaws before the show goes out. Some folks don't.
Unofficial Blues Traveler archivist - glad to work on any BT or related recordings
archive.org admin - happy to upload tracked material to the LMA

Offline muddguts

• Trade Count: (0)