Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: APEX 205 Ribbon Mics - Cheap...  (Read 2833 times)

Roving Sign

• Trade Count: (0)
APEX 205 Ribbon Mics - Cheap...
« on: November 14, 2006, 11:52:10 PM »
http://www.apexelectronics.com/index.php?tmp=4&id=1343

99 bucks here...

http://www.frontendaudio.com/APEX_APEX205_Ribbon_Microphone_p/7489.htm

Anyone play with one of these...? Seeing them on ebay recently...

Pattern is listed as "Asymmetrical Figure-8" - guess that means one lobe is bigger than the other...?

Pretty high SPLs...looks like fun...
« Last Edit: November 14, 2006, 11:57:28 PM by Roving Sign »

stirinthesauce

Re: APEX 205 Ribbon Mics - Cheap...
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2006, 09:45:16 AM »
The 210 is just a few bucks more and supposedly ( I have no experience, just talking with a dealer who I did not buy this particular mic from but we discussed this) a bit better sounding.  I've got one but it's going back today for another, bad ribbon.  Dirk should be able to chime in about the sound of these.  He also has one.  We ran them as a room ambient pair at one gig and he used it to close mic a guitar cab at another.  There is a simple mod to these that really opens up the top end but also makes them more fragile.  They are big mics but rather cool looking in a classic sorta way.

For the price, if one is interested in playing around with ribbons, you won't be out a bunch of money, especially if you drop it  :P

Offline anodyne33

• You'll have that
  • Needs to get out more...
  • All my life there's been the magnets.
    • Lucky
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2006, 10:30:57 AM »

Pretty high SPL?!?!?!? That's like jet engine loud! I've never seen these before, I'd be really curoius to hear some real world experience. For $100 it would be a great way to start playing with m/s...
Pockets full of nickels and nothing left to eat, and I'm stuck behind a semi on Soniat Street.

Offline TNJazz

• Ninja
  • Trade Count: (44)