Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R-09 + external mic w/o preamp? Is this possible?  (Read 2986 times)

Offline toben

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi everyone,

I'm a taping newbie (and an electronics newbie). I've recently ordered an R-09 and a mic (specifically, the SP-TFB-2) and I thought I'd ask some questions before making my first field trip.

1. How important are windscreens for an in-door venue? (Does moving around generate "wind" that would need to be screened? FYI, I didn't buy one!) Do you keep them on even in "low wind" environments?

2. Is it necessary to have a batterybox or preamp for Line In? Mic In? Are they the same thing?

3. I'm planning to tape some acoustic and rock shows in a medium sized venue (200 persons). Could you recommend some R-09/taping settings if all I'm bringing in is my recorder, my mic, spare AAs, and a 4GB memory card?

Thank you very much,
tob

P.S. I'm hoping to train up to a pretty good level by next month for Aereogramme's final concert in Glasgow!

Offline poorlyconditioned

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm a tapir!
Re: Edirol R-09 + external mic w/o preamp? Is this possible?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2007, 09:09:56 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a taping newbie (and an electronics newbie). I've recently ordered an R-09 and a mic (specifically, the SP-TFB-2) and I thought I'd ask some questions before making my first field trip.

1. How important are windscreens for an in-door venue? (Does moving around generate "wind" that would need to be screened? FYI, I didn't buy one!) Do you keep them on even in "low wind" environments?

2. Is it necessary to have a batterybox or preamp for Line In? Mic In? Are they the same thing?

3. I'm planning to tape some acoustic and rock shows in a medium sized venue (200 persons). Could you recommend some R-09/taping settings if all I'm bringing in is my recorder, my mic, spare AAs, and a 4GB memory card?

Thank you very much,
tob