Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Setup suggestion for amplified indie pop band in smallish student pub  (Read 1603 times)

Offline indietaperwloo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
I'm pretty new to the taping game but I'm also a seasoned audio engineer and run a restoration and mastering studio out of my apartment.  I don't have any gear of my own yet but I made friends with a local taper who's trying to cut back on the amount of gigs he goes to so he's going to lend me some of his gear to tape the band.
The instrumentation is 2 electric guitars (Fender Telecaster and a Gretsch hollowbody), a trumpet (miked), an electric piano (Hohner Pianet), a bass guitar (Ibanez SRX400) and miked drums and the room is capable of holding anywhere from 30-60 people and is basically a converted farmhouse on the second floor.  (http://www.gsa.uwaterloo.ca/house/)
The taper friend is going to lend me a pair of his Sennheiser KE4-210-2 HRTF binaural mics and an Edirol R-09 to start with but he has other gear including a pair of Beyerdynamic MC930's and a Fostex FR-2LE.  The thing I like about the Fostex is the ability to monitor the recording on headphones while it's recording - I doubt you'll be able to do that with the binaurals.  Plus, the Fostex is capable of 24/96 which I don't think the R-09 is.  I already have written permission from the band to record their set so stealthiness isn't an issue.
Bottom line: Which rig will yield better results?
Sennheiser KE4-210-2 HRTF > Edirol R-09 @ 24/44.1
OR
Beyerdynamic MC930 stereo pair X-Y > Fostex FR-2LE @ 24/44.1
Portable 2 track:
Sennheiser MKE2 (HRTF) > Edirol R-09
AT822 > Edirol R-09
Studio Projects C4 (ORTF/XY) > Presonus Firepod > Edirol R-09

4 Track Open Rig:
Studio Projects C4 (ORTF)/FOH Feed > Edirol R4

FOH:
Mackie 1604 VLZ Pro > dbx 215 Graphic EQ > Behringer PMX2000 (Power Amp Section) > Behringer B1220 Mains

Multitrack:
Mackie 1604 VLZ Pro > Tascam DA-38 w/Burr Brown Op-amps

Out: