Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Two recorders - can't keep tracks synchronized - what to do?  (Read 2900 times)

Offline ScotK

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection Regular
Two recorders - can't keep tracks synchronized - what to do?
« on: February 29, 2008, 04:10:12 AM »
Hi

I'm relatively new to recording although i do have several shows under my belt at this point. Twice recently I've been
able to record on two units at the same time: a Neuros DAC and a HiMD recorder.  I load both recordings into audacity
and pick an obvious place near the beginning to sync things up and lo and behold, after a few minutes, the tracks aren't
in sync any more!  This last time, I synced about 6m in, but by the end of the recording (~100m), they're about 7s off again.
A sync holds reasonably true to the ear for a track or so, but not much longer. So a few questions:

1) Is one of my units keeping bad time?
2) Is there any way to fix the problem and/or find out which is right?
3) Is there any way to stretch or shrink time in one recording so I can get them
     synced throughout the entire recording.

In one case, I had a SBD and an AUD recording and I wanted to mix the two. This last time I had two audience
recordings, but still with different mics and positions, so I wanted to mix the tracks together to try to get the
optimal recording. What can I do?

Thanks,

scot

Offline 69mako

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: Two recorders - can't keep tracks synchronized - what to do?
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 04:46:05 AM »
If it a gradual drift what you need to do it align the tracks at the beginnig and then stretch or shrink one of the recording to match the other.  I've done this a few times with my two JB3's.  This is exactly the reason I'm jumping on the r-4 team.  It might be a lot of work, but the results can be quite stunning.

Good luck.
Mako
http://db.etree.org/69mako