Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?  (Read 6727 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sparkey

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3935
FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« on: November 20, 2009, 10:25:40 AM »
So I tried installing FLAC Frontend on to a freshly formatted XP box and got this error:

There was an error registering a needed file with the operating system; FLAC Frontend may not run.

On a different XP box a couple months back, also freshly formatted, I got something about a fatal error occurring during installation and no amount of googling could find the fix for me.  Is FLAC Frontend just suckin balls these days?  What is an alternative to that proggy outside of simply going command line?

Thanks,

Josh

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 10:31:11 AM »
Traders Little Helper - http://tlh.easytree.org/

Offline Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 13246
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 10:37:29 AM »
Tried to install it on a Win2003Server box and had similar problems.  As a work around I've been encoding the files stored on that machine using a FLAC install on a client across the network. Works, but I'd rather run it locally. Couldn't find much info in a quick webseach.  Any ideas on that?
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<<

Offline kcmule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3159
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 10:39:01 AM »
Service packs applied to the OS?

Offline Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 13246
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 10:48:56 AM »
Mine are, can't speak for Josh.
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<<

Offline kcmule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3159
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2009, 10:59:24 AM »
I forget what installer FLAC frontend uses but it might
have issues with certain versions of .NET framework.

Might try an update or downgrade of that framework.

Strictly guessing here...

Offline Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 13246
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 11:11:29 AM »
Good thinkin', sounds reasonable.  I'll play with that when I get back around to it.
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<<

Offline dennisrtyler

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4834
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2009, 11:22:23 AM »
had the same problem with a fresh XP lappy. TLH rocks.
4. im so abrasive i make sandpaper nervous.

Schoeps CMR/mk4 > Naiant PFA > Oade Concert Mod Marantz PMD-661

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11008
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2009, 11:23:43 AM »
Traders Little Helper - http://tlh.easytree.org/

yep.  WAY better than frontend
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline kcmule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3159
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2009, 11:31:52 AM »
Traders Little Helper - http://tlh.easytree.org/

yep.  WAY better than frontend

What I don't like about TLH, unless I'm missing something,
is there is no way to apply tags with it.  I'll often add tags
to my files as they are being flac'd.  At least, band name,
venue, date, and my source info/lineage.

Offline sparkey

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3935
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2009, 12:11:26 PM »
I don't quite understand why it needs to register files in the first place, as the GUI is just a frontend to generate command line to tell the binaries what to do.  I'll give TLH a shot.

Thanks y'all!

Josh

Offline Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 13246
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2009, 12:18:39 PM »
Maybe just to register the .flac extention and the path to the DLL?
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<<

Offline sparkey

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3935
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2009, 01:47:30 PM »
Maybe just to register the .flac extention and the path to the DLL?

Yes....but if you were able to do that without an installer (e.g. batch file?), it would prevent the multiple installation issues I've experienced.....

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
  • Gender: Male
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2009, 02:27:38 PM »
Here's the solution to this problem: http://majorgeeks.com/faqshow.php?id=8
Schoeps { MK6 | MK41V | MK4 } > NBob actives > {Naiant Tinybox v2.0 | Naiant IPA | Naiant PFAs} > {Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Sony PCM-A10 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d}

Recordings:
Live Music Archive | DaD Torrents | TTD Torrents | Etree Torrents

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11008
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: FLAC Frontend lost its mojo?
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2009, 04:08:05 PM »
Traders Little Helper - http://tlh.easytree.org/

yep.  WAY better than frontend

What I don't like about TLH, unless I'm missing something,
is there is no way to apply tags with it.  I'll often add tags
to my files as they are being flac'd.  At least, band name,
venue, date, and my source info/lineage.

I use foobars live show tagger to tag my files.  grabs the info from the textfile.  you can then right click > properties and add more info if needed/wanted.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.205 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF