Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: free advice for newbie tapers  (Read 5451 times)

Offline musicfan68

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
free advice for newbie tapers
« on: August 01, 2012, 03:40:18 PM »
well I'm a newbie taper & last night I recorded my first shows live at the 100 Club in London  ;D

listening back to them this morning there's some free advice I can offer other newbies- it might seem obvious to the more experience peeps out there but it wasnt for me

first of all Recording Levels- dont be lazy and use the auto settings - set them manually- it will give you better sounding results

mic settings - loud venue = low sensitivity

heavy bass- filters on (to reduce vibrations)

then where you are positioned in the venue is also important- being down the front of a packed crowd maybe great for atmosphere but you will have to compromise the quality of your recording

this next point is paramount - ALCOHOL INTAKE- I enjoyed the gig so much that I got absolutely p/ssed, stuck my recorder in my shirt pocket & jumped around like a lunatic for the 3 main bands- great night- not so great recordings  ::)   I was so drunk that I actually forgot to record one of the bands (but got 5 out of 6 so I'm not too disappointed)

FYI I was using Olympus DM5, internal stereo mics,

If I get time I will be uploading the recordings on Dime this weekend- I'm gonna see if I can do anything to improve the sound first.... but hey I'm learning. Any constructive advice or guidance will always be welcome from the experienced tapers out there

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

• <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: free advice for newbie tapers
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 04:29:21 PM »
Hahaha!  Welcome to your new addiction!

Terry