Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)  (Read 19476 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4221
  • high desert for life
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #75 on: January 04, 2020, 07:49:58 PM »
i see it is now measured at avisoft, dont recall seeing it there before. i aggregated some other recorders for reference in this edited screenshot

https://www.avisoft.com/recorder-tests/

« Last Edit: January 04, 2020, 07:55:13 PM by jerryfreak »
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline alanisrox69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #76 on: January 04, 2020, 11:17:52 PM »
Has this unit been updated to prevent unauthorized Bluetooth access? I remember reading that anyone with the phone app and in Bluetooth range could load the app and control your unit. Is this still the case?

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1562
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #77 on: January 06, 2020, 09:29:27 AM »
I ran line in with MK41>BabyNBox for Dylan with good results.
Any recollection (or screen shot) of the level setting for that? ... just for reference...
I started at 12 and ended up at 16. Could have definitely bumped up a few more but was being conservative for the first time out.

Offline Chrisedge

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 421
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #78 on: January 09, 2020, 04:59:08 PM »
Has this unit been updated to prevent unauthorized Bluetooth access? I remember reading that anyone with the phone app and in Bluetooth range could load the app and control your unit. Is this still the case?

I don't think so, since you have to put the unit into a pairing mode. If it's not in pairing mode, you aren't connecting...
Audio: Sound Professionals SP-CMC-10 (AT933s) or Church Audio CA-14 (Omni & Cards) Mics >
Sound Professionals Battery Box SP-SPSB-1, SP-SPSB-10 or Church Audio Preamp CA9200 >
Sony PCM-A10, Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d Recorders
Video: Panasonic DCM-ZS100 & GoPro 7 Black

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #79 on: January 09, 2020, 06:05:39 PM »
So I’m gonna roll the A10 for the first time, Maceo Parker 😈 4v>nbobs>babynbox>A10. What’s an educated guess for a safety level? I have the record app but still want some sort of benchmark from which to adjust. FOB/DFC/25’ in a 2-3k room.

Thanks!

How'd the show turn out? Can we hear the recording?
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4101
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #80 on: January 10, 2020, 10:49:13 AM »
So I’m gonna roll the A10 for the first time, Maceo Parker 😈 4v>nbobs>babynbox>A10. What’s an educated guess for a safety level? I have the record app but still want some sort of benchmark from which to adjust. FOB/DFC/25’ in a 2-3k room.

Thanks!

How'd the show turn out? Can we hear the recording?

tonight.

Wussed out and ran my 620. Have to wait for something less critical.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2020, 09:26:51 PM by MakersMarc »
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520 amp>B&W V202 speakers.

Offline ol' dirty taper

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been riding with the ghost...
    • Ancient Earth
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #81 on: January 11, 2020, 01:00:50 AM »
Chrisedge, you are right, I was going to comment the same thing.


I have had an unusual microSD card read error on the A10 now a couple of times where it says the card needs formatting. Occasionally my desktop computer will freeze up/reset and if the A10 is connected and the card had not been unmounted, the unit will give me a "Format SD Card" screen for a few seconds. I have been able to get around the problem by just reconnecting the A10 to my mac and after the card mounts (computer doesnt have a problem reading it via a USB connection) then ejecting it as normal. Card works fine.

The type of card I am using is a Sandisk Ultra Plus 128 GB V10 MicroSDXC

Anyone else notice this?
Mic : Beyerdynamic MC930 SS | Naiant X-X Omni Pair | Beyerdynamic TG L34C Pair | AT831s Pair (CA - HI SPL mod)
Deck : Sound Devices MixPre 6 | Sony PCM-A10
Play : Beyerdynamic DT990

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4221
  • high desert for life
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #82 on: January 11, 2020, 02:42:21 AM »
The type of card I am using is a Sandisk Ultra Plus 128 GB V10 MicroSDXC

Anyone else notice this?

try a 32GB sdhc. my a10 didnt like large cards, and sdhc outperformed sdxc in every test ive tried
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline ol' dirty taper

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been riding with the ghost...
    • Ancient Earth
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #83 on: January 11, 2020, 05:32:08 AM »
The type of card I am using is a Sandisk Ultra Plus 128 GB V10 MicroSDXC

Anyone else notice this?

try a 32GB sdhc. my a10 didnt like large cards, and sdhc outperformed sdxc in every test ive tried

Good to know, thanks jerryfreak. Going to order one.
Mic : Beyerdynamic MC930 SS | Naiant X-X Omni Pair | Beyerdynamic TG L34C Pair | AT831s Pair (CA - HI SPL mod)
Deck : Sound Devices MixPre 6 | Sony PCM-A10
Play : Beyerdynamic DT990

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4221
  • high desert for life
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #84 on: January 11, 2020, 01:09:13 PM »
sandisk extreme pro 32GB is the best ive tested, in all devices. best $15 ever

https://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=191314.msg2305855#msg2305855
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1085
    • How I Escaped My Uncertain Fate
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #85 on: January 12, 2020, 08:44:48 AM »
Used my new A10 for the first time last night, and being able to check and adjust levels via the phone app was even more of a game changer than I expected. Recording came out great, transferring it now.

I was running AT853 cards (modded) into a Church UBB, and started Audio In gain at 12, later raised to 17 during a set break as I could see I had additional headroom. This was for a loud-but-not-super-loud show (just barely not requiring earplugs, though I had them at the ready).

Offline dyneq

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 539
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #86 on: January 12, 2020, 10:38:55 AM »
MIC IN or Audio IN?

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1085
    • How I Escaped My Uncertain Fate
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #87 on: January 12, 2020, 05:22:13 PM »
MIC IN or Audio IN?

Audio IN.

Is there a way to switch between MIC IN and Audio IN via the app, btw? I'm not seeing one.

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 700
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #88 on: January 13, 2020, 01:28:29 AM »
MIC IN or Audio IN?

Audio IN.

Is there a way to switch between MIC IN and Audio IN via the app, btw? I'm not seeing one.

No there isnt unfortunately
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4221
  • high desert for life
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #89 on: January 14, 2020, 11:10:17 AM »
open box $129 on ebay
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Sony-PCM-A10-Portable-Linear-High-Resolution-Audio-Recorder/362881032450?epid=3034153977&hash=item547d652102:g:ywcAAOSwR4peHQBD


new ones with warranty are still $163 tho. might be a better deal. +$30 is not bad deal for full warranty (i try to buy my consumer electronics with the CC that adds a year, but only on 'new' purchases)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Brand-NEW-Sony-PCM-A10-A10-Linear-PCM-Audio-Digital-Recorder-A-Series-US-SHIP-4/303290010551?epid=3034153977&hash=item469d7e4bb7:g:nzUAAOSw8UddiFt1
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.058 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF