Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7  (Read 8829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #60 on: July 28, 2020, 02:24:31 PM »
Firmware 7.10 is out with front panels locks!
hells yeahs
^^ Holding for Sound  :alert:    ;)
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline ol' dirty taper

  • (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been riding with the ghost...
    • Ancient Earth
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #61 on: July 28, 2020, 02:58:41 PM »
Updated my firmware and the front panel locks are a neat feature that I am sure I will use in the future.

Now only if there is a way to control the gain from the Wingman app...
Mic : Beyerdynamic MC930 SS | Naiant X-X Omni Pair | Beyerdynamic TG L34C Pair | AT831s Pair (CA - HI SPL mod)
Deck : Sound Devices MixPre 6 | Sony PCM-A10
Pho/Vid : Sony a58 | Panasonic ZS100 | DJI Osmo Pocket 3
Play : Beyerdynamic DT990

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #62 on: July 28, 2020, 06:43:01 PM »
Updating from v7.0 only required a single reboot.
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • (54)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5313
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #63 on: July 30, 2020, 09:13:56 AM »
Updated my firmware and the front panel locks are a neat feature that I am sure I will use in the future.

Now only if there is a way to control the gain from the Wingman app...

^
Gain is not yet controllable using the Wingman app but this is an interesting development nonetheless...

https://www.facebook.com/groups/mixpre/permalink/1499784956888519/

http://inputstick.com/?fbclid=IwAR01Rng9cYDJ_jBFVi5ikRcbjW91lv5m_dmrhO7M1zcz-yNkUVfGSP5ggu8

« Last Edit: July 30, 2020, 09:16:02 AM by dactylus »
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline ol' dirty taper

  • (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been riding with the ghost...
    • Ancient Earth
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #64 on: July 31, 2020, 05:50:23 PM »
Ran into my first glitch today on the new firmware. I am using the mp6 to transfer old minidiscs to my mac using usb C (no 3.5mm audio input on the mac). Took a minute to configure the 1 & 2 inputs to USB outs and that is working just fine. While doing the first transfer I figured I should save the settings to a preset on the SD card. I navigated to the preset menu, named it, and when I hit 'ok' to save, the mp6 went into this loud feedback loop that required me to turn off the unit to remedy. I reloaded the preset when power was back on and everything is working perfectly.

Worth noting, I am not recording to the mp6, just using it as a passthrough device. The only thing the device is doing is monitoring levels.

*I think what I did was save a preset with the same name and it did not like that. Forgot I had already saved one.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2020, 01:53:25 PM by ol' dirty taper »
Mic : Beyerdynamic MC930 SS | Naiant X-X Omni Pair | Beyerdynamic TG L34C Pair | AT831s Pair (CA - HI SPL mod)
Deck : Sound Devices MixPre 6 | Sony PCM-A10
Pho/Vid : Sony a58 | Panasonic ZS100 | DJI Osmo Pocket 3
Play : Beyerdynamic DT990

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #65 on: August 07, 2020, 06:50:46 PM »
Just curious, did you reformat the SD card in the MixPre after upgrading the firmware before saving the preset to the card?
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline justink

  • (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1937
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #66 on: August 08, 2020, 07:11:13 AM »
Just curious, did you reformat the SD card in the MixPre after upgrading the firmware before saving the preset to the card?

I’m curious about this.

How do I save my settings to the SD card?

I assume the firmware update will reset my settings?

What’s the best way to update while retaining settings?
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline Gordon

  • (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11380
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #67 on: August 10, 2020, 09:26:18 AM »
updating firmware will not change the settings but it's a good idea to revert to default and reconfigure after an upgrade.  if you save presets on the mp (default) then they remain after loading factory defaults.  That is if restored to default via presets.  If they are saved to SD then simply copy somewhere before formatting.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #68 on: August 10, 2020, 11:19:13 AM »
From Paul Isaacs regarding an earlier update which likely applies to all updates moving forward...

"Guys - v3.00 has been in QA for many many weeks and passed intensive testing. It is highly recommended that after you update to new firmware, you load factory defaults, then reformat your SD card in the MixPre, then rebuild any presets. A machine can literally have millions of possible setting states. So starting from a clean factory default state/preset often clears up things after a major firmware update. If this doesn't help, then please contact our tech support who will help you resolve issue. Thx"

Edit to add info regarding a reset because it appears you can’t just delete old presets...

You can restore the whole unit to factory state by holding down the headphone encoder and CH1 fader while booting the unit. Note that this will reset everything.

On the next power up after doing the reset the recorder performed a reboot.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2020, 07:49:36 PM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline checht

  • (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
  • Gender: Male
  • Old and in the Way
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #69 on: August 10, 2020, 11:44:00 AM »
Wondering how SD resolve the issue of panel knobs getting out of sync with levels? Eg, set gain, lock front panel, know gets turned. What happens when unlocked?

If they've addressed this issue, then front panel lock brings us a step closer to wingman gain control.
Schoeps MK41s > nbob KCY >
Naiant PFA 60v > Sound Devices MP-6  or  Naiant IPA > Roland R-07

Offline morst

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4262
  • Merrick Garland *was* a compromise, and just look.
    • #twitterSUCKS
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #70 on: August 10, 2020, 12:18:42 PM »
Wondering how SD resolve the issue of panel knobs getting out of sync with levels? Eg, set gain, lock front panel, know gets turned. What happens when unlocked?
If they've addressed this issue, then front panel lock brings us a step closer to wingman gain control.
My guess is that you can only do it in a mode where the knobs don't control the levels directly.
*hell no I am not putting x.0 firmware on my working machine
if you are able to vote, and have not yet voted, please VOTE!

Offline checht

  • (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
  • Gender: Male
  • Old and in the Way
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #71 on: August 10, 2020, 12:35:04 PM »
Wondering how SD resolve the issue of panel knobs getting out of sync with levels? Eg, set gain, lock front panel, know gets turned. What happens when unlocked?
If they've addressed this issue, then front panel lock brings us a step closer to wingman gain control.
My guess is that you can only do it in a mode where the knobs don't control the levels directly.
*hell no I am not putting x.0 firmware on my working machine
Still rockin' 2.2.1. And Mojave.
Schoeps MK41s > nbob KCY >
Naiant PFA 60v > Sound Devices MP-6  or  Naiant IPA > Roland R-07

Offline morst

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4262
  • Merrick Garland *was* a compromise, and just look.
    • #twitterSUCKS
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #72 on: August 10, 2020, 01:04:35 PM »
Sorry, I'm a fucking liar. I'm grudgingly running the 6.00 because I was advised to by SD service. It's working for my current use as USB interface.
if you are able to vote, and have not yet voted, please VOTE!

Offline ol' dirty taper

  • (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been riding with the ghost...
    • Ancient Earth
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #73 on: August 11, 2020, 04:25:53 PM »
Just curious, did you reformat the SD card in the MixPre after upgrading the firmware before saving the preset to the card?

I did do a reformat, I saved the presets to a folder on my desktop to move them over.

Noticed that if I change the preset while sound in being input, I will get a similar loud ringing while the preset loads.

Will probably wipe the unit again and just reload the presets from the deck itself and save fresh files. Everything has been working fine otherwise.
Mic : Beyerdynamic MC930 SS | Naiant X-X Omni Pair | Beyerdynamic TG L34C Pair | AT831s Pair (CA - HI SPL mod)
Deck : Sound Devices MixPre 6 | Sony PCM-A10
Pho/Vid : Sony a58 | Panasonic ZS100 | DJI Osmo Pocket 3
Play : Beyerdynamic DT990

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #74 on: August 11, 2020, 06:23:08 PM »
Just curious, did you reformat the SD card in the MixPre after upgrading the firmware before saving the preset to the card?

I did do a reformat, I saved the presets to a folder on my desktop to move them over.

Noticed that if I change the preset while sound in being input, I will get a similar loud ringing while the preset loads.

Will probably wipe the unit again and just reload the presets from the deck itself and save fresh files. Everything has been working fine otherwise.

While doing the first transfer I figured I should save the settings to a preset on the SD card. I navigated to the preset menu, named it, and when I hit 'ok' to save"

It looks like Sound Devices recommends we perform a reset then rebuild "not reload" presets after a firmware update and reformatting cards.

[From Reply #68 Above]

It is highly recommended that after you update to new firmware, you load factory defaults, then reformat your SD card in the MixPre, then rebuild any presets.

You can restore the whole unit to factory state by holding down the headphone encoder and CH1 fader while booting the unit. Note that this will reset everything.



How do I save my settings to the SD card?

I assume the firmware update will reset my settings?

Earlier "justink" had an inquiry about saving presets to SD Card, I took the attached photos to help illustrate how that's done...
« Last Edit: August 12, 2020, 11:24:52 AM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.057 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF