Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7  (Read 8433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #75 on: August 12, 2020, 11:43:52 AM »
Thank you
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #76 on: August 22, 2020, 08:26:47 PM »
So, is it safe to update to 7.1?  I don’t want to rebuild my presets if I should wait for the next one. But I do want the front panel lock.
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (144)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4212
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #77 on: August 23, 2020, 09:27:24 AM »
Updated my Mixpre-6!  The lock controls are nice, but I haven't done extensive testing to find bugs.  I assume by the next time I can see a concert that someone will ferret out any issues and they will probably have an updated firmware with fixes. Upon initial use everything seems to be working just fine.

So, is it safe to update to 7.1?  I don’t want to rebuild my presets if I should wait for the next one. But I do want the front panel lock.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2020, 09:48:03 AM by jbell »
Microtech Gefell m20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) or AKG ck61's & ck63's> Naiant Actives> Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #78 on: August 23, 2020, 02:14:04 PM »
I updated to 7.1, haven't really done any bug testing but haven't encountered any in use either.  Thanks to COVID have only been doing some stereo ambience nature recording and have shifted more into dialog/conversational recording along with utilizing the MixPre-6 as a computer streaming interface use for with Zoom meetings etc.  Picked up some DPA mics to better fit these current recording applications as it'll probably be a while before resuming live music recording.   
« Last Edit: August 23, 2020, 07:02:34 PM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 | DPA 4060 & 4266 Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #79 on: September 06, 2020, 05:15:36 PM »
can someone clarify something for me?

MixPre10 II:

If i'm taking a mixed/main out [XLR (left/right)] from a desk, would I be fine going XLR into the MixPre (phantom off, of course), or would I need to go into the MixPre with TRS?  Does it matter?

For example, I have channels 5 & 6 linked, Armed, Line In (not mic).  Am I good going XLR out from board - > XLR into deck?  Or should I go XLR out from board - > TRS into deck?  Does it matter?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 05:27:28 PM by justink »
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Online checht

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 375
  • Gender: Male
  • Old and in the Way
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #80 on: September 06, 2020, 05:34:12 PM »
I always use xlr ins, prefer a locking connector. Never had an issue w line level desk feeds via this path.
Schoeps MK41s > nbob KCY >
Naiant PFA 60v > Sound Devices MP-6  or  Naiant IPA > Roland R-07

Offline rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1000
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #81 on: September 06, 2020, 08:10:32 PM »
With some decks, like the original Zoom F-8, you have to use TRS to get line level, but with the Mixpre-x you set line or microphone level via the menus and can use with XLR or TRS
Schoeps CMC6 (MK22's) / AKG C480B (ck61, ck63, ck8) /  Neumann KM100 (AK40, AK50) / Audio Technica AT4050ST/ AT853s  (cardiod, omni) / CA-14 (cardiod) / CA-11 (Omni) /
Mixpre-10t / Mixpre-6 / Roland R-07 /Tascam DR-100mkIII /

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #82 on: September 06, 2020, 08:29:51 PM »
I always use xlr ins, prefer a locking connector. Never had an issue w line level desk feeds via this path.

With some decks, like the original Zoom F-8, you have to use TRS to get line level, but with the Mixpre-x you set line or microphone level via the menus and can use with XLR or TRS

Thank y'all.  That's what I thought but wanted verification. 
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (144)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4212
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #83 on: September 07, 2020, 08:19:20 AM »
I use XLR for mics channel 1 & 2, but I like right angle 1/4 cables for SBD feeds.  They are low profile and easy to situate in the bag at any position needed. 

Edit:  These have worked well for SBD feeds and are cheap.  We also use these with our Henry patchbox.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Audio2000s-E20112-12Ft-1-4-TRS-Right-Angle-to-XLR-3pin-Female-Microphone-Cable/221392638211?hash=item338c079103:g:rgwAAOxy0x1TUByF
« Last Edit: September 07, 2020, 03:15:58 PM by jbell »
Microtech Gefell m20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) or AKG ck61's & ck63's> Naiant Actives> Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #84 on: September 14, 2020, 05:15:01 PM »
something weird just happened.

i put AA's in and powered on.

first screen said "new firmware detected - installing"

then it said "install successful, unit will restart now"

buuuuut i never put any new firmware on the SD card and it started and finished on 6.0.

so, whaaaaaat?
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #85 on: September 15, 2020, 03:23:22 PM »
Pre-roll question:

I go into the record menu and have Pre-roll set for 10 seconds. 

But when I start a recording it always starts at zero on the timer.  My R-44 would start the timer 5 seconds (or whatever the pre-roll was).

Is the pre-roll even working?  Is it still saving 10 forward seconds even though the record timer starts at zero?  i'm confused.


ANSWER:

I ran a test.  Recorded exactly 10 seconds, then pressed play and it played for 20 seconds.  So, Pre-Roll works in the background without showing on the record counter.  Good to know.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2020, 03:32:20 PM by justink »
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.052 seconds with 52 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF