Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)  (Read 34525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #90 on: January 10, 2020, 09:23:43 AM »
I see that also in AVCHD the time limit is removed.

I tried finding the AVCHD setting, but couldn't.  The manual wasn't much help either.  I have non-concert related projects that I could really use the AVCHD setting without the time limit.  Please help a brother out.

I hate these menu cameras though.

But once you get your menus all set, you pretty much don't have to mess with them again except for maybe formatting an SD card.  At least, that's how it's been for me.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #91 on: January 10, 2020, 10:36:06 AM »
2 different sections in the motion picture menu. One has you pick between mp4 and avchd it’s before where you choose the 4K or 1080 modes.

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #92 on: January 10, 2020, 11:45:18 AM »
2 different sections in the motion picture menu. One has you pick between mp4 and avchd it’s before where you choose the 4K or 1080 modes.

Got it - thanks!
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #93 on: January 10, 2020, 12:18:37 PM »
Also I have the lcd set to monochrome, way easier to manually focus with peaking.

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 674
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #94 on: January 16, 2020, 02:03:46 PM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

Offline sabre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 185
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #95 on: January 17, 2020, 06:36:42 AM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k

What is your upload speed?

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #96 on: January 17, 2020, 04:47:12 PM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k

I mux 4K vids with 24 bit audio and upload to Youtube all the time.  So ... 60-70GB files.  Down-converting to 1080 would be really time consuming -- and would seriously cut into time I spend doing other video projects on my computer.

I'm really lucky that the podunk town I live in decided to do something about the shit internet service offered by Comcast and it started its own fibernet service.  So I get really fast upload speeds (over 10MBs/sec most of the time) and I only pay $40/mth flat fee.  On top of that, they don't care how much bandwidth you use; they don't even monitor it.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #97 on: January 25, 2020, 12:36:02 PM »
Is it possible to have Auto ISO in video mode?I don't see it.

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.


Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #98 on: January 25, 2020, 01:59:34 PM »
Is it possible to have Auto ISO in video mode?I don't see it.

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.

OK i seen Auto ISO is not available in Manual mode(unlike the Canon DSLRs that i'm used to)But is available in Shutter Priority,Aperture Priority.

Still wondering about AF and MF though.

I can set the AF ON AE LOCK button to auto focus while pressing it in while im in MF mode but what about being in auto focus mode without pressing the button and grabbing MF when needed while filming.I can't find any way to do this.

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #99 on: January 25, 2020, 03:10:02 PM »

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.

I asked this several months ago and no one ever responded.  I have since bought a second ZS100 and have not tried to do anything that would take it out of auto-focus mode.  My first ZS100 is still in manual focus mode.  I like it for certain situations - like when there is a lot of flashing lights (strobes), for example.  But I also get a fair amount of video that is slightly out of focus when shooting in manual focus mode because it appears to be in focus in the LED, and I don't actually see that it's out of focus until I get home and see it on my computer.

I considered the 'nuclear bomb' option of resetting the camera to default settings (which would bring back auto-focus) and go back through with the other various recommended settings that Datfly listed, along with the recording time hack.  That would only take five minutes or so.  But now that I have a second camera, I decided not to do that.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #100 on: January 26, 2020, 10:53:37 AM »
I just noticed a strange occurence.

I recorded 2 clips in AVCHD 1920 x 1080 30p

When i copy them to computer the specs of the clips are 720 x480 and windows media player plays them as 720 x 480.

I bring those clips into Vegas and they are 1920 x1080?

guitard can you test on your system please.

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #101 on: January 26, 2020, 01:14:56 PM »
I recently recorded a clip in AVCHD mode with the second (from the top) option for "FHD 17M 60i" in the "Recording Quality" section in the camera menu.

I copied the file to my computer.  Here are the file specs shown by MediaInfo (https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo) on top, and Windows Explorer on the bottom):

Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #102 on: January 26, 2020, 02:28:44 PM »

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.

I asked this several months ago and no one ever responded.  I have since bought a second ZS100 and have not tried to do anything that would take it out of auto-focus mode.  My first ZS100 is still in manual focus mode.  I like it for certain situations - like when there is a lot of flashing lights (strobes), for example.  But I also get a fair amount of video that is slightly out of focus when shooting in manual focus mode because it appears to be in focus in the LED, and I don't actually see that it's out of focus until I get home and see it on my computer.

I considered the 'nuclear bomb' option of resetting the camera to default settings (which would bring back auto-focus) and go back through with the other various recommended settings that Datfly listed, along with the recording time hack.  That would only take five minutes or so.  But now that I have a second camera, I decided not to do that.


I figured it out.

On the back of the camera to the left of the center Menu button is the MF button.
If when you press this the yellow focus square pops up(such was the case for me)You need to go into the Menu>Custom Wrench screen>Page 3 DIRECT FOCUS AREA -OFF-.
Now when you press the MF button on back of camera you get your choices of AF.MF

Also most useful for how we are filming is to change the AF/AE Lock button so when you press it in you get AF only while pressing in.So you can be in full Manual Focus and grab AF when pressing and holding the AF/AE Lock button(AKA back button AF) press it in and get AF.let go and back in Manual focus.

To set this up go to Custom Wrench Menu>Page 1 AF/AE Lock>SELECT >AF-ON :coolguy:

Online guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3093
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #103 on: January 26, 2020, 03:27:39 PM »

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.

I asked this several months ago and no one ever responded.  I have since bought a second ZS100 and have not tried to do anything that would take it out of auto-focus mode.  My first ZS100 is still in manual focus mode.  I like it for certain situations - like when there is a lot of flashing lights (strobes), for example.  But I also get a fair amount of video that is slightly out of focus when shooting in manual focus mode because it appears to be in focus in the LED, and I don't actually see that it's out of focus until I get home and see it on my computer.

I considered the 'nuclear bomb' option of resetting the camera to default settings (which would bring back auto-focus) and go back through with the other various recommended settings that Datfly listed, along with the recording time hack.  That would only take five minutes or so.  But now that I have a second camera, I decided not to do that.


I figured it out.

On the back of the camera to the left of the center Menu button is the MF button.
If when you press this the yellow focus square pops up(such was the case for me)You need to go into the Menu>Custom Wrench screen>Page 3 DIRECT FOCUS AREA -OFF-.
Now when you press the MF button on back of camera you get your choices of AF.MF

Also most useful for how we are filming is to change the AF/AE Lock button so when you press it in you get AF only while pressing in.So you can be in full Manual Focus and grab AF when pressing and holding the AF/AE Lock button(AKA back button AF) press it in and get AF.let go and back in Manual focus.

To set this up go to Custom Wrench Menu>Page 1 AF/AE Lock>SELECT >AF-ON :coolguy:

I was :banging head: for a long time about this until I finally gave up.  Thanks for figuring this out.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 674
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #104 on: February 08, 2020, 03:16:24 PM »

How to get Auto focus in video mode? I'm stuck in manual focus.

I asked this several months ago and no one ever responded.  I have since bought a second ZS100 and have not tried to do anything that would take it out of auto-focus mode.  My first ZS100 is still in manual focus mode.  I like it for certain situations - like when there is a lot of flashing lights (strobes), for example.  But I also get a fair amount of video that is slightly out of focus when shooting in manual focus mode because it appears to be in focus in the LED, and I don't actually see that it's out of focus until I get home and see it on my computer.

I considered the 'nuclear bomb' option of resetting the camera to default settings (which would bring back auto-focus) and go back through with the other various recommended settings that Datfly listed, along with the recording time hack.  That would only take five minutes or so.  But now that I have a second camera, I decided not to do that.


I figured it out.

On the back of the camera to the left of the center Menu button is the MF button.
If when you press this the yellow focus square pops up(such was the case for me)You need to go into the Menu>Custom Wrench screen>Page 3 DIRECT FOCUS AREA -OFF-.
Now when you press the MF button on back of camera you get your choices of AF.MF

Also most useful for how we are filming is to change the AF/AE Lock button so when you press it in you get AF only while pressing in.So you can be in full Manual Focus and grab AF when pressing and holding the AF/AE Lock button(AKA back button AF) press it in and get AF.let go and back in Manual focus.

To set this up go to Custom Wrench Menu>Page 1 AF/AE Lock>SELECT >AF-ON :coolguy:

Thanks for this. I'm trying it out tonight. My last video has periods of lost focus, which was disappointing.
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.059 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF