Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)  (Read 13680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dyneq

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 507
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #135 on: March 19, 2020, 04:39:23 PM »
I will try and test mine also. If there's a pattern, hopefully Sony can drop a firmware fix.

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3811
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #136 on: March 19, 2020, 05:19:27 PM »
I'm on a chat with a Sony tech right now. Three cables, same result. Left channel hotter via line in on exact same signal.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack,  Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Pro Audio
Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco, Pioneertown Tapers

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 663
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #137 on: March 19, 2020, 05:38:56 PM »
I just tried mine with some test tones. No problems here, besides the max pickup frequency being 16khz..
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3811
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #138 on: March 19, 2020, 05:52:06 PM »
Chat could not fix it, I am contacting Pro Support next
https://na.info.pro.sony/Contact_us.html

Edit: Chat's troubleshooting regimen was as follows

- check that I tried 2 cables. I tried three.
- power cycle recorder- turn it off and on again
- check that EQ is not the cause, cycle it on and off again
- check that Key Change is not the cause, cycle it on and off again
- reset all settings on recorder via menus

How to restart your recorder (power switch!)
https://helpguide.sony.net/icd/pcma10/v1/en2/contents/TP0001677672.html
Adjust Equalizer:
https://helpguide.sony.net/icd/pcma10/v1/en2/contents/TP0001886584.html
Check Key Change:
https://helpguide.sony.net/icd/pcma10/v1/en2/contents/TP0001684411.html
Reset All Settings So The Recorder will even BEEP at you because I KNOW you turned that off!??
https://helpguide.sony.net/icd/pcma10/v1/en2/contents/TP0001669024.html?search=reset
Establishing Bluetooth connection for RecRemote (necessary after full reset!)
https://helpguide.sony.net/icd/pcma10/v1/en2/contents/TP0001684587.html

NOTE! The thing I really learned here is that to re-establish bluetooth connectivity, the iOS device MUST FORGET the information from the "old" PCMA10 in order to pair with the newly reset unit! That was not in Sony's help instructions but I requested to the chat tech that it be added, and also left it as a comment on the help page.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 06:12:24 PM by morst »
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack,  Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Pro Audio
Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco, Pioneertown Tapers

Offline vantheman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #139 on: March 22, 2020, 04:24:14 PM »
Did it work?
AT U853A Cardioids (SP-CMC-4U) > SP-SPSB-10 12V > Sony A10

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3811
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #140 on: March 22, 2020, 05:02:48 PM »
Did it work?
Nope. I contacted Pro Support, so I now have a case number, and they say they'll get back to me. I will keep this thread updated as to progress.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack,  Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Pro Audio
Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco, Pioneertown Tapers

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3811
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #141 on: March 24, 2020, 05:38:12 PM »
Did it work?
Nope. I contacted Pro Support, so I now have a case number, and they say they'll get back to me. I will keep this thread updated as to progress.
Spoke to Sean at Sony Pro Support in New Jersey.
We went through a reset, and checked to see if auto levels or mic mode made any difference to the input issue.
No difference, so I'm gonna send it it for a warranty claim. It comes with a year warranty so I should be good.
If anyone else wants to go through support, the phones are shut down right now, but you can email Sony Pro support in Jersey to get going. They will create a case number and get your info, and probably have you send it in if it can't be resolved with normal operation options.
You'll probably end up talking to Sean, he said he's the only one in the shop right now.
https://pro.sony/ue_US/product-resources/knowledge-panel/professional-warranty-information
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack,  Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Pro Audio
Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco, Pioneertown Tapers

Online jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3332
  • team WOOz
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #142 on: March 24, 2020, 07:07:31 PM »
since you have an ear see if you can weasel out of them when the next gen of products are coming out. tell em we want a 32-bit recorder with digital input , in the form factor of an icd-ux570 ;)
team schoeps, dpa, benchmark, and zoom mostly... subject to change without warning

Offline vantheman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Sony PCM-A10 (Part 2)
« Reply #143 on: March 25, 2020, 02:00:59 AM »
Spoke to Sean at Sony Pro Support in New Jersey.
We went through a reset, and checked to see if auto levels or mic mode made any difference to the input issue.
No difference, so I'm gonna send it it for a warranty claim. It comes with a year warranty so I should be good.
If anyone else wants to go through support, the phones are shut down right now, but you can email Sony Pro support in Jersey to get going. They will create a case number and get your info, and probably have you send it in if it can't be resolved with normal operation options.
You'll probably end up talking to Sean, he said he's the only one in the shop right now.
https://pro.sony/ue_US/product-resources/knowledge-panel/professional-warranty-information

Thanks for going through all of that. I’ve been meaning to deal with it but I’ve been insanely busy the past couple weeks.
AT U853A Cardioids (SP-CMC-4U) > SP-SPSB-10 12V > Sony A10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.101 seconds with 51 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF